"Always take a Texan to your BBQ"


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Clare » Ennis
June 22nd 2009
Published: June 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Deerhound!Deerhound!Deerhound!

I finally got to see what a Deerhound looks like. The AMD folks will appreciate this one...
Rainbow Garden Centre
Kilmlihil, Ireland (near Ennis)
Very Early Monday, June 22, 2009

I think I might be the story behind a new saying in this area of Ireland (see the title of this post). You see, even though I really don't act much at all like someone from Texas, people around here definitely have an idea of what a Texan is. And today I got to live up to one of those stereotypes. This weekend is, as you may know, the summer solstice. And people who live with 7 hours of daylight during some parts of the year really like to celebrate the longest day of the year. This resulted in two parties thrown this weekend, and both were quite good bashes.

Yesterday was the party of the Gardeners. I'm not really sure what Bill's name is, but his partner Chrys has the last name of Gardener and that is also their occupation. They are a couple who emigrated over from America a couple of years back after WWOOFing for Hilary & Chris, my hosts. Chrys managed to finagle Irish citizenship out of the fact that her grandparents were born here, so jolly good for them. Anyway, it
Cock of the Walk!Cock of the Walk!Cock of the Walk!

OK, king of the compost heap
was a very nice BBQ that we took some homemade bread & cheese to and enjoyed a little music session at. Chrys & Bill are vegetarians, and so they had loads of tasty tofu & aubergines to throw on the grill. Plus they both play instruments, so we had a little folk music session right there in the living room of their thatched roof cottage. Very nice, but we had to head home fairly early to put the chickens up and whatnot. The party raged on for hours after we left.

This morning, Hilary & I were picked up by Collette, a lovely British woman who was throwing a Solstice BBQ that Hilary wanted to co-host. I volunteered to go help setup and cook, as the alternative was a queen rearing course with Chris and, to be honest with you, I will leave the beekeeping to people who actually like bees. After chopping up a few trees for the firewood - and believe me I'm getting handy with an axe - we made up some salads for the guests. Fellow NC State Alumnus Kim showed up around noon, but we already had things well in hand. Around 2:00, guests
PicnicPicnicPicnic

Here's where we had the BBQ. Very nice place
started arriving, each bringing a bottle of something and a covered dish. The potluck idea was well understood by the English and American expats who atteneded, but not really by a lot of the Irish folks. But no matter, it was great fun. I managed the grill for the night, as it gave me a great way to meet folks who were arriving. It's an old trick of mine if you want to get social at a BBQ, because everyone talks to the guy who is controlling the food. Well, folks here had never really heard of some of my ideas (such as putting cheese on the burger to melt it when it's still on the grill, or grilling sliced onions for toppings), and they went over well. I was also very good at segregating out the veggie foods onto a secondary grill versus onto the main meat-top grill, which impressed the few vegetarians in the crowd. I even managed to get compliments on grilling prawn kebabs, even though I don't cook seafood due to the allergy. It was a rousing success, and by the end folks were hugging me and bringing me drinks and whatnot. Great times. Collette offered to let me stay with her family if I were ever in Co. Clare. There was even another music session, during which I took my turn playing the washtub bass. Folks may not know this, but Appalachian mountain music is just Irish music played at a steeper angle.

Lessons learned:
The older ladies here think I'll make someone a wonderful husband. Seems to be a pretty universal consensus, I've heard the same from folks back home
When offered someone's homemade wine, accept it. The black currant wine I had tonight was outstanding
Everyone lets their hair down every now and again. Don't take life too seriously or you might miss out on the fun

Advertisement



23rd June 2009

Glad you are getting on alright. I was beginning to worry a bit that I hadn't heard from you. -Sara
23rd June 2009

all these posts!
Your last 5 posts just showed up on my reader at once.. very strange. I just caught up, and everything sounds amazing. Way to get your BBQ on brah!
23rd June 2009

sounds like you got to catch up on some of your socializing. thanks, solstice! woo woo bar bee queueueue!
23rd June 2009

Jim glad to are having a good trip. Just remember how wonderful the Irish women are, after all your mother is one and I married her. love mom and dad.
24th June 2009

Lessons learned
Always nice to be entertained AND learn something! Now I know...
24th June 2009

James, thanks for keeping us up to date. It sounds like you're having a marvelous time in Ireland. I've really enjoyed reading about your adventures!
24th June 2009

you're hiLARious! :)
I miss your face :(
24th June 2009

The entries all showed up simultaneously because, even though I backdated them, I posted them all within a few minutes of each other. I didn't have net access in Kilmlihil, so I just typed up entries on the netbook for later posting...
10th July 2009

Tear to my eye...
James you are so awesome!!! I read this post and I can totally see you doing all of the things that you described here...you are such an amazing person and I know that all the people that you are meeting can see that too! The older ladies there are right! I miss seeing you!

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb