Raining in Doolin


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Clare » Doolin
May 31st 2012
Published: May 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Thursday May 31 – Doolin – It’s raining in Doolin today and probably for tomorrow. I had planned a trip to the Cliffs of Moher today but as I have actually been twice before I don’t consider that it is worth my while to go there in the rain. I am sure glad that since I am retired I have the luxury of pretty much unlimited time and so don’t have to go somewhere when it is raining but can wait and do it some other time.

I have been drinking my tea and working on various projects since about 8AM. Tea is about the only thing that I have found to be less expensive in Ireland than in the US. Everyone talks about austerity but I guess they are all waiting on the other guy to reduce his prices first. The prices on most things, especially meals and lodging is still being kept high.

Doolin is a nice little town but I don’t think I would go out of my way to come here again. Outside of being a quaint little village and having boat trips to the Cliffs of Moher and the Aran Islands there is nothing much special about it.

The #50 bus picks up at the Dolin Hostel and goes to the Cliffs of Moher. And then you catch a later #50 bus back.

I am staying in the Doolin hostel and the manager here is super friendly and helpful. Too much so as I usually prefer the short answer to a question and he usually gives the long answer.

The rooms and bathrooms are adequate but nothing special. The bunk beds are the kind kids usually have and don’t have enough head room to sit on them for putting on your shoes, looking in your luggage etc. The rooms could use a chair for that. Still; since I pretty much just dress and sleep in the room they are adequate. The kitchen, reception area, lounge area etc. are very comfortable. Just the kind of place to relax and drink my tea and do homework while looking out the window at the rain.

Yesterday (Wednesday) I took the boat tour of the bottom of the cliffs that leaves from the pier in Doolin. It is a very long walk there and back from the hostel.

The tour cost 20E and was worth it. The boat ride out is a bit choppy so I would suggest eating after taking the tour. There was a dolphin which hangs around the pier to the amusement of the onlookers. There was a young girl swimming as well.

I ate at the O’Connors Pub yesterday afternoon after my tour of the bottom of the cliffs. I really didn’t want anymore “traditional Irish food” so I had a toasted ham and cheese sandwich with chips and a coke for E10.95. They had traditional Irish music but it didn’t start till around 21:30 and I didn’t want to wait up for it.

Tomorrow I will catch the #337 bus at 12:35 to Ennis. It arrives at the Ennis bus station at 14:10. There is what I have been told is about a 900 meter (1/3 mile) walk from the bus station to the hostel. I hope it is not raining as I left my raincoat in my bag in Ballinasloe (!!).

One good thing is that the turning point and bus stop for Bus Eireann in Doolin is just outside the door of Doolin Hostel.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb