Life in Carlow and Dublin


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Carlow » Carlow
February 15th 2009
Published: April 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

We are going to London in Thursday so I am very excited! It has been pretty warm for the last couple of days so I am not worried about snow this time! It actually hasn't rained in a while either! We have been lucky to have such nice weather! We had our windows open in our apartment all day today!

I went to Dublin last Saturday and I love the city! There is a lot to do and see. We went to see The Book of Kells at Trinity College but it was not on display. We were walking to the tourist office and saw Peterson of Dublin store. I knew I had to go in and realized it is a cigar shop. I told them my last name is Peterson and they gave me bags and boxes with Peterson on them. We walked to the Guinness factory and went through for a tour. At the last stop of the tour you get a free Guinness at the Galaxy Bar. This is a bar at the top of Dublin and the views are amazing. You could see the whole city and the Wicklow Mountains in the background. I can't wait to go back! We then walked to a fish and chips takeout restaurant, Leo Burdocks. Kevin's (one of the other Americans) aunt suggested it and it was very greasy but very good!

We walked across the street to Christ Church Cathedral. The outside and inside are beautiful. Pictures don't do justice. We then walked to a pub where we watched an Irish rugby game. People were very interested and I am trying to learn the rules so I can actually understand what I am watching and cheering for! Dublin is an awesome city and I know I will be back many times.

Paul will be here in 20 days and my mom will be here in 34 days! I can't wait! I'm going to take them to Dublin for a day. I know my mom is looking forward to the Guinness tour and Paul is looking forward to the Jameson whiskey tour. I am not sure other then Dublin where my mom and I are going to go. Maybe to the west coast to see the Cliffs of Mohr, I have heard they are beautiful!

Classes are going well. I have Christology, Irish Experience, Creative Writing, Irish Dance and Advertising and PR. The professors are very helpful and easy to understand. They have been flexible with our schedules and the fact that we are taking classes at two different colleges. In my Advertising and PR class we are in groups and have an advertising project due in May. We are advertising for a product and get to make a radio ad and marketing plan. I am looking forward to hearing the Irish students projects to see how similar but different they are from US advertising. In Irish Experience I am learning about the history of Ireland and different traditions and the stories behind them. I am also learning to Irish dance, speak Irish and play the Irish tin whistle. I am not very good at all at the tin whistle! I need to practice a lot! We are watching an Irish rugby game right now and trying to figure out how to play it! We keep looking up the rules online! Ireland is 2-0 in the Six Nations!

Katie (my roommate) and I have been shooting around every now and then at the school's gym. They kind of hunted us down and asked us if we want to come out for the team! So we are going to practice on Wednesday, I am nervous! The coach called us to tell us that we could play in their first tournament in Belfast in two weekends. That would be very exciting but we will see how practice goes on Wednesday!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb