Kayak the Arctic Circle and Whales


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland
May 28th 2015
Published: May 28th 2015
Edit Blog Post

whalewhalewhale

2 hump back whales (you can barely see the puffs)
Wednesday.

Today I started out with a Herring Museum tour in the city of Siglufjordur and learned all about harvesting the herring and learning all about the industry that really made Iceland. One of the best years was 1965 but by 1969 the industry had crashed because of over fishing. I saw how they cut and salted the fish, got the fish oil and meal and even got to try some of the herring and local “alcoholic” drink. I then walked around town before heading back to the ship. Shelly took a nice walk around the town and found the local grocery store and bought a few items. Siglufjordur is the 5th largest city and has only about 3000 people. This seems to be the largest city we have seen besides the capital.

I came back to the boat and read and then we sat sail for Grimsey, one of the islands of Iceland and this one is on the arctic circle. On the way there the announce that there was a whale sited. I ran up stairs with the camera and did get a picture of 2 whales blowing water. You can’t see much more than that in
DSCN1792DSCN1792DSCN1792

puffins
the picture but I did get to see the whale’s tails at one point.

Our arrival into Grimsey was delayed as the seas were rather rough so Shelly and I thought they would be cancelling kayaking. Nope, it was Shelly and I and the guide and another employee. We dressed in the fleece and then a dry suit with booties and gloves and off we went. It was raining part of the time but the dry suit really kept you warm. My thumb did get cold a bit in and I learned why later as I noticed a small hole in it. But no matter, this was cool. Grimsey is on the arctic circle so we kayaked the arctic circle!!! We saw tons of Puffins and even drifted into a school of them. #%@# the camera with the big gloves. I thought I was getting some killer pictures but many of them didn’t take. We still got some great shots though. The guides said they had NEVER been around that many puffins and then to have the take flight with us right there was so great. I’m really glad I did this.

Tonight they baptized anyone who wanted
DSCN1780DSCN1780DSCN1780

puffin in the water while we kayak
it for the passage of the Arctic. I went up on deck to see but after seeing what they did, I said no thanks. They get a scoop of ice water and pour it down your neck. NO THANK YOU.

Thursday - we went into town (largest northern town 17K people) and there is high speed internet. So you got the next 2 blogs. I'll keep trying on the ship on the other days but it takes about 15 minutes just to download those few photos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

DSCN1745DSCN1745
DSCN1745

our kayaks
DSCN1770DSCN1770
DSCN1770

more puffins in the water
DSCN1743DSCN1743
DSCN1743

Kayak girl
DSCN1728DSCN1728
DSCN1728

claire in the dry suit
DSCF6928DSCF6928
DSCF6928

view at our first stop
DSCF6925DSCF6925
DSCF6925

The first tree I've seen in Iceland
DSCF6909DSCF6909
DSCF6909

The Herring girl cleaning and salting the fish


Tot: 0.445s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb