Here in Grundarfjörður!


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland
April 3rd 2007
Published: April 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, I´ve arrived in the windswept and remote fishing village of Grundarfjörður at 8.43pm!
Long bus journey from Reykjavík to get here but I was greeted warmly by the guy who owns it.
I went whale watching this morning and got photos of some Minky Whales. It is in the poorest possible taste that the whale-watching ships actually dock on the opposite side of the pier to the whaling ships... it´s sickening.
Anyway, i´m sat using the computer as the wind rattles everything and the sun goes down but I feel better than I thought I would having left the bright lights and bustle of Reykjavík behind. This feels more like I thought Iceland would.
I had a really vivid dream about being at home last night, featuring just about everyone I could think of and I woke up feeling thoroughly lonely and very homesick which stayed with me for the first half of the day but I feel much better now I´ve arrived.
I spoke to a Mexican guy on the boat (if anyone´s seen Napoleon Dynamite, it was Pedro!) who was shocked and appalled at the price of Iceland and I agree! It is VERY expensive. My tour guide the other day said 'Only three things in Iceland are cheap. Hot water, cold water and electricity... which comes from water!'
The water is the weirdest thing for me so far, apart from the Icelanders furvently believing in elves. It comes STRAIGHT from the ground. The water is instantly hot (no boilers in Iceland) but, on the downside, smells of sulphur (rotten eggs for you non-chemists!). I´m getting used to it.
I have so far stayed completely sober in Iceland due to the sparsity and expense of alcohol!
I´ve seen pretty much all the 'must see' sights in Iceland apart from the Blue Lagoon but you can't breath for beauty and amazing views so there's plenty to keep me occupied for now.
I think expense may slightly accelerate my journey to Seyðisfjörðdur but I'm on schedule at the moment and money is by no means a problem yet.
Anyway, I´m going to go and get changed and wash a bit of the travel off myself now, then I might go to bed as I am totally knackered!
Still to see the Northern Lights as well, I'm afraid because there has not been one clear night since I got here!
Anyway, tomorrow, I will make an effort to upload a lot more photos because the current ones have been met with enthusiasm.
To Parkins, to weigh your luggage, pop it on the bathroom scales and support it or make it awkward to fit on a plane, that way, they don´t weigh it and it goes to the outsize luggage section! Nice little trick!
Anyway, I will post tomorrow.
I miss you all!
xXx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb