Iceland Part Deux, Day 1


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » Southwest » Reykjavík
February 20th 2016
Published: March 1st 2016
Edit Blog Post

It's only been four months, but I returned to Iceland. I just can't get enough of it and with the WOW airlines prices and services, it was easy to take off again. This time, I took my cousin's son, Gabe and we left from Baltimore to meet my friend K and her little sister, E, who were leaving from Boston. Gabe has been wanting to see the Northern Lights since he was a little kid; I had previously had his sisters out to California to visit me and his younger brother travels the world with the choir and since he is also going through a bit of a hard time right now, it was the perfect time to bring him.

While I picked comfortable seats on the correct side of the plane this time, we did not get to see the lights. Bummer. We were able to sneak in a bit of sleep, but not much. We arrived in Reykjavik around 5am. After clearing customs, we met my friend at baggage claim. While waiting for my one checked bag (combined with Gabe's to cut costs), K and I stocked up at the duty free shop. Alcohol in Iceland is very expensive so this is a must if you want to drink. We grabbed seven bottles of wine and debated on getting more, but in the end we felt this would hold us (it did until night 4). After getting my bag we went to get our rental car. It was a chore finding it. The teenagers hung out and wound up chatting while K and I searched the frozen tundra outside the airport for a tiny little Toyota Yaris. Once found, we packed it up and searched for an ice scraper. After using our hands, K finally found it and it was the size of my hand; I have small hands.

We made our way fairly easily to our hotel - since it was Saturday before 7am, there was not much traffic. They said they had seen the lights and as we looked out we could make out a faint greenish glow, but I was still hoping for something more. We arrived at Hotel Orkin at 7am and I went in to see if we could check in to our room. Unfortunately, they said the room would not be ready until the afternoon, but we were more than welcome to hang out in the tv lounge and even help ourselves to breakfast. The lounge had a big leather couch and games; Gabe started playing his chess game, bringing back memories as I had taught him and his brother this game six years ago. We slowly drifted off to sleep on the couch or on the floor when the receptionist woke me at 10am and said our room was ready. They apparently cleaned it as soon as the people had left as there was still a vacuum sitting outside the door. What a relief. We all immediately crashed and slept until about 2pm.

My friend Jamie had invited us to the local pool, Laugardalslaug. Icelanders basically have their social hours after work in these hot pools at all times of the year, but this particular pool is the largest in Reykjavik and it is no joke. We met Jamie and Addi and their friends in the small pool outside the dressing area and after catching up, we all decided to take a plunge down the water slide. Yes, really. We swam across one of the big pools, which was quite cooler than our hot start, to the slide, which has an enclosed stairway up to the top of the covered slide. We each threw ourselves in, desperate to get back into the warmth of the pools and it was awesome. You slide down in the dark. Despite banging my head on the side of the fast moving slide at one point, I loved it! Then we made our way to the various hot tubs; each hot tub has a designated temperature between 38C and 44C at 2 degree increments. Jamie, Gabe and I hung out at the 40C tub while K and E swam some in the Olympic sized pool and the guys went to the hottest tub. Loved it.

After the pool, we were starving having seriously not eaten all day (we were too tired for the free breakfast). So, first we got the traditional Icelandic hot dogs right next to the pool as an appetizer. Then Jamie led us to a restaurant just outside of town that Addi's mom had taken her before. There was a limited menu and we were the only patrons, but it was a very pleasant place. It was nice to catch up and the lamb soup was delicious. It was quite expensive and closed at 8, so we headed back to town to get some more traditional Icelandic food: ice cream! If you remember, my dad and I had this before and it was the same chain store, but different location. The "small" ice cream was still huge, but it was so good.

Then we said our good byes and went back to our room for more sleep. The next day was the first day of our road trip and Addi took a few minutes to check our tires and warned us about an incoming storm. He said they didn't expect snow, but lots of wind and to be very careful. Always take the word of an Icelander when he warns you about a storm….

*Wow, I seriously have no pictures - that is a first. So I am taking some photos of the pool from the internet...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb