Fire and Ice


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » Southwest » Reykjavík
September 14th 2006
Published: September 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

In disbelief is where you can find me...


A lonely land it is.

I know everyone is well. Summer is all but done. As is my time.

I had a great last day in London. Bertie and i rolled around Camden, Soho, Covent and the usual sights and then his brother came down from up north and we smashed a great dinner and an AMAZING desert prepared by their mom.

It was really nice to have a home cooked meal with a family. In NE Turkey was the last time i had that. With Volkan´s family. I hope they are doing well.

I flew out that morning and got in here to Iceland. It was pissing down and i couldn´t be bothered with hitching or the cost of public transportation along with the lack of freedom with that. So i said screw the expense and rented a vehicle and headed out. It was to be my last hurrah and i felt i deserved it. To do these lands justice. And to blow the rest of my saved money.

Time for another road trip....!!

Like it was second nature, i got in cranked the radio and took off before i really knew where i was going. Got a few days worth of food and headed north. I went around Iceland and finally got to the other side that night.

I am soo glad i included this land in my journey and am really glad it came last. This country is amazing. It is pure, raw, unfiltered geology at every turn.

The land holds so much beauty and with the techtonic activity active everyday, its no wonder this is a place of legend.

I can´t really do justice to what i have seen but some of the most powerful sights i have ever witnessed, ones that left me speechless were found in the outer reaches of these lands. I have some pictures and i had to take a few videos to really capture the up close power.

Ancient lava fields, new lava fields, thundering waterfalls, glaciers, turquoise rivers, geysers, and glaciated valleys and gorges along with landscapes not of this world...

The culture and the people are really interesting. Hot springs and thermal baths are a way of life as there are places to hit in every little town or village.

The Icelandic language sounds like a cross between spanish and dutch.

The legend of the women is correct. There really must be something in the water because even the horses are blonde and beautiful.

The food. Expensive as hell as is everything here. The main dish i wanted to try is shark meat buried underground for a few days, left to rot. Then, dug up, uncovered and cooked and served. We´ll see if i get around to having it. I heard it tastes like chicken....




I returned the car after a few days of freedom and am here now in Reykjavik, the main town and capital. In the mornings i head to the hot springs where i start with some rounds in the sauna then hit the springs, jumping from hot to cold. Then the city all afternoon and then i smash the film festival that is here in Iceland this week.
I will take my last d-run through a foreign city and sleep my last night in a strange place.
Things are good and i will savor my time.

I really can not believe that my journey is almost over. In a few days, my last letter to you will be from America.

This way, this path i have chosen, this life is all i have come to know.

I thought about getting a one way ticket back the other way.....somewhere... but no money, and i do miss you and my pup and the plateau. Soon enough i think.

I am not sure how i will adjust but am sure it will be a struggle. It will be fine with time.
I guess its a constant journey.

I do look forward to seeing you.

Things will be good...

Like i said, my last letter will come after the weekend. Final thoughts, trip details, favorites, and such to come.

It still is hard to sit still or hold a thought in my head. Freedom indeed.
These lands .......no words.....


Be safe.

I hope all goes well

see ya

Love
Jonathan







Advertisement



Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb