Off to Iceland


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » Southwest » Reykjavík
December 26th 2018
Published: December 29th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Slept most of the night. I must have been tired! I have no idea what day it is... I'm staying at the Holiday Inn Ariel near Heathrow and the room comes with breakfast. I was hungry so wandered down at 6:30... and had hot English vegetarian breakfast. I didn't take a photo so you'll have to imagine eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms with toast and tea. All very nice. Checkout time was 12:00 so I went back to bed and slept for another couple of hours.

Nuggie and Theo's flight was supposed to arrive at 12:30 so I caught the bus and arrived at Terminal 3. To get to Terminal 4, I had to catch the underground train. Their flight had already landed but with the queues of yesterday, I knew they were going to be a while. I had repacked my bag with only the 'essentials' which basically means very little clothing and lots of cords and electronics. They finally arrived through the gate more than an hour after they arrived. I'm feeling grumpy because when I arrive back from Iceland, I have to battle the queues again! We all bought phone cards and I headed off for Terminal 3 again as that's where my flight is leaving from. Nuggie and Theo headed off for their flat in London. I checked in and found they had allocated me a centre seat... yuk so I changed it to an aisle, the plane was completely full. After waiting for 6 hours at the airport we finally boarded the plane for Reykjavik. The flight was about 3 and a half hours. When we arrived at around midnight, I had to catch a taxi to my airbnb. Cost me $28 AUD for a 10 minute ride! Everything is expensive in Iceland! I fell into bed and slept for a few hours. This airbnb was pretty ordinary. I'm not sure whether I should give a review. There was no breakfast supplied, just some half opened packets of pasta and the milk was out of date. The shower was grose and I wouldn't use it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb