Whirlwind trip to Reykjavik and Stockholm


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » Southwest » Reykjavík » Kopavogur
January 25th 2012
Published: January 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

To book my flights and hotels a week before departure, to get travel-books 24 hour before my flight, and to read them for the first time during my flight has become the hallmark of my travel. This was no different. Manan and I decided on this trip a week before. I had always wanted to visit Iceland in winter.

We flew Iceland Air from JFK airport in NY. I started on time in the morning, but after an hour, I realized that I had forgotten my passport back home. So I had to turn back, and that put us about 2 hours behind schedule. In the end, we managed to reach aiport on time, only to be told that the filght was delayed by 2 hours because of weather in Reykjavik. Bummer .. I thought, because this means we wont be able to take a golden circle trip in the morning 😞

IcelandAir names all its airplanes after volcanos. This plane was named Katla (volcano in south Iceland) I spent my time during flight reading about the volcanos, Iceland tourbook, and looking outside the window for any hint of northern lights. No such luck .... and since all weather websites said that next 2 days would be cloudy, I was resetting my expectations from this trip.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb