Adventures in Gastronomy!


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary
June 8th 2007
Published: June 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

LángosLángosLángos

This is a Lángos, a sort of deep-fried crepe. Here, it is topped with sour cream and cheese, along with a garlic wash. To the right is Traubisoda, a mild grape soft drink. If Hungarianfoodis better than all other food, Lángos is better than all other Hungarian food. Which is to say, the best dish in the world. I had dreamt of this for four years.

Adventures in Gastronomy!

 Europe » Hungary By korossyl
June 8th 2007 I love my life, and what I'm studying, and what I'm hoping to do with it.
But if I had another life to live, I think I'd be a priest (well, and Catholic). And if I had another one... an airline pilot... and if I had a fourth, I'd be a master chef. Maybe even before airline pilot? Who knows... I suppose, ultimately, it doesn't really matter all that much...

But being in Hungary has allowed me to indulge in this (perhaps) tertiary passion to a degree I have neither the time nor the means for in the New World. Here's how it works: any Hungarian food is better than all non-Hungarian food. Pretty simple!

So, here's some samplings of the fantastic adventure I, as an amateur gastronome, am having in this wonderful land of unspeakable delights.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Lángos 2Lángos 2
Lángos 2

Unfortunately, the perfect nature of the Lángos was too much for my poor, uncultured stomach, and I could only eat about a third. Then I didn't have anything else for the ret of the day. And I still felt full. Oh...
Túros Csusza, SzalonnávalTúros Csusza, Szalonnával
Túros Csusza, Szalonnával

lit. "Sour Cream pasta with Bacon." The toppings are stirred in, sealing an ideal marriage of carbohydrate and protein in a light dairy medium. I had just had this as I wrote this blog article. So... so very good. The not-ideal but very good beverage is an orange Fanta.
Csokis PalacsintaCsokis Palacsinta
Csokis Palacsinta

lit. "Chocolatey Crepe". Hungarian crepes are generally sweet desserts. Here it is served with whipped cream and two orange slices. The orange's natural acidity contrasted with the other elements, all bases, instigating a complex debate between the flavors that was simply a privelage to resolve by digestion.
Hot Dog ExtraHot Dog Extra
Hot Dog Extra

This is why Hungarians distinguish between "Hot Dog" and "Hot Dog - Amerikai". A baguette speared through with a tender cylinder of masterfully-processed meats, and stuffed with tomatoes, cheese, ketchup, mustard, lettuce, and cucumber (the last element of which I am discovering I dislike). To the side is a glass of Kozel, a Czech beer which was not very good and which I did not finish.
Zöldborsó Leves, FasírozottalZöldborsó Leves, Fasírozottal
Zöldborsó Leves, Fasírozottal

lit., "Green bean soup, with hashed meat ball", and, of course, two slices of bread. Another Hungarian classic. The soup is built on a sour cream base, making it so thick as to actually render the meat bouyant. It's also the dish's capstone, providing the dairy to go alongside the vegetables, proteins, and grains. Delectable, though as an American, I may have liked more fasírozott.
Hortobágyi Húsos PalacsintaHortobágyi Húsos Palacsinta
Hortobágyi Húsos Palacsinta

lit. "Hortobágy Meat Crepe", "Hortobágy" being a vast prairie in Hungary known for its unique cultural, hearty inhabitants, and Hungarian longhorns. Two crepes, identical to those served as desserts, but filled instead with tender beef and served in a beef stock-and-sour cream sauce. Every ingredient is deliciously soft and tender, which is why it was so shocking how much heavier I felt afterwards, and so completely full. Absolutely incredible.
SzilvapálinkaSzilvapálinka
Szilvapálinka

Also from the Hortobágy, a 120-proof plum-based liquor that's practically required for this and other dishes. Had me singing "Hortobágyi gémeskútnak gémje van...!" in no time.


Tot: 0.262s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb