Budapest and the evil pigeons


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
June 8th 2008
Published: January 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

View of DonauView of DonauView of Donau

Donau, Budapest
As I arrive from Slovenia, it is too early to get my reserved bed at the hostel. I decide to spend the time walking the nearest area of the hostel. After having bought some water and a ham and cheese sandwich from a very friendly and talkative young woman, I go to the little park nearby the hostel to eat and enjoy the grey June wheather in Budapest. As I sit on the park bench the birds start flocking around me, grapping for the crums that fall off my sandwich. And here it is. The first thing I discover about Budapest. The pigeons have wicked and evil-looking eyes. They look mean, meaner than in other places. Hmm... what a beginning to my three days of lonely wandering through the streets of Budapest.

During my time in Budapest, I only saw the sun in glimpts. Even though it was June, the wheather was grey and rainy. Luckily, I stayed at a hostel with a small cinema and the possibility of watching movies of all kinds. Unfortunately, I do not understand all kinds of humour and had to spent an entire rainy afternoon in the company of an American comedian's collected work.
Moulin RougeMoulin RougeMoulin Rouge

Budapest


I chose otherwise and engaged myself in walking around the city of Budapest. Even though the pigeons still looked mean, and the wheather was grey, the rest of the city was absolutely dashing. The grand Danube river with the majestical Parliament lighting up at night really was an eye catcher and I must have spent at least twenty minutes in the cold spring wheather gazing across the river. It reminded me of the Thames and the House of Parliament, probably because of its position over the Danube and the lightings at night. But it made me feel good, - better than the stand-up comedian.

For the next couple of days, I wandered through the UNESCO World Heritage Site city center. It is quite remarkable that an entire city center can be awarded a position on the list, but after seeing Budapest I could not believe it to be any other way. Though busy and modern life buzzle in the streets, you can't help yourself thinking that you have stepped into another time, a time of greatness. And, as a student of history, you find yourself engaged in a constant quarrel with yourself over why you didn't read more on the history of this great city and its people.

I do hope to one day return, when the wheather is better and after I have had time to study the history of this magnificent city. But until then, I wish the best for all the lucky inhabitants of the fair city of Budapest.

Anna

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb