EuroTrip Day 41 (Athens Day 5/ Budapest Day 1)


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
July 19th 2008
Published: July 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I somehow woke up before my alarm clock even rang today. I think I was so worried about missing my flight that my internal clock forced me to get up pronto. I did the triple S combo in the morning. From there I grabbed one last gyro from my favorite local spot and headed to the station to catch a 45-60 min. train ride to the airport. Everything went rather smoothly on the administrative end and I caught my flight.

Unfortunately, I ended up having to do a 5 hour lay over in Nuremberg. It also kind of sucked that I took a 2 1/2 hour flight only to catch a 1 1/2 hour flight that came back that way. Anyways, I killed time by listening to music and catching up on my blog (much needed since I was 2 weeks behind).

The 5 hours went by reasonably quickly. I got on the plane and headed to Budapest. The flight was relatively uneventful as I watched the movie 300. I must say, Air Berlin has fantastic service. Everyone was really nice and helpful and they even give you a full meal for a one hour flight. Not something you see very often in the states. The flight was pretty uneventful until I looked out the window and saw a panel missing on the engine…… (or at least I thought). Seeing a missing piece on the engine scared the crap out of me, but then I saw a hydraulic piece so figured it was supposed to do that.

As for Budapest, I must confess, this was probably the city I was most worried about visiting. I hadn’t read up too much about it except for the fact that the Hungarian language is considered the second hardest to learn. I quickly found that to be true, but luckily everyone speaks a decent amount of English so it was no problem. From the airport, I took a 20 minute bus ride to catch the metro. My first impression of Budapest is that the streets look like a combination of streets in Colombia and the Midwest. Weird association, I know, but that’s what struck me.

After searching for the hostel for a little while, I finally found it. I was greeted by Andrew, the nicest old man you’ll ever meet. I also met Robert and Liam from Cambridge, Grace and some other girls from London, and Jenna and Jen from Toronto. Everyone was so nice. So far the Home Plus hostel lived up to it’s billing. It was less like a hostel and more like I was staying in someone’s home. It had a real comfortable vibe to it. The location was also great since I was two blocks from the Parliament building and half a block from the Danube river.

Since I was tired from the lack of sleep and since it was already about 10, I decided I’d stay in. I just hung out with the Cambridge fellas and the London girls for a while and went to bed.




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



24th July 2008

Ugh!! I hate waking up before the alarm. Makes me feel like I got jipped of some sleep.

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0189s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb