Weather


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece
August 16th 2010
Published: August 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The forcastThe forcastThe forcast

See what I mean?
It is literally way too hot to do anything here. It pushes 100 degrees every day and there are no fans or AC in either the house or the school. And when Rachel and I finally took the 2 fans from the school back to the house for the weekend, just running 1 fan for a few hours overheated the entire electrical system so we had no power for an hour and I just got power back in my room today after an electrician came. Greece is really awesome, but not having any relief from the heat AT ALL is just ridiculous. I literally sweat allllll day every day. I go to bed sweating, wake up sweating, and sweat continuously. The only relief is going to the beach to swim, which only happens after we get out of school at 8pm or on the weekend. Its just ridiculous. All of us have paid so much money to be here for 4 weeks, and all of us are sick of being this hot. After we ran the fan for 4 hours (while sitting directly in front of it, on the porch with frozen water bottles all over us) and it blew out the entire system, the owner of the house took both fans away. Her remedy to the heat is "keep the windows and doors open so the breeze can get in." Well lady, when its 100 degrees outside, there is no breeze. And all that blows in are mosquitos. All 5 of us combined definitely have over 100 mosquito bites. So not only do I sweat constantly, I itch. Both of those things would almost be tolerable if we didn't have a huge roach problem in the house. At first, I thought "ok I've only seen a couple and we've killed them. It's not that bad." Well its a problem. I see at least 3 a day. I stepped on one with my bare foot walking across the kitchen floor Saturday night. I guess I'm just venting. I still haven't finished the paper that I need to turn in in a couple of hours. I will be good and ready to leave this house in 2 weeks. Still don't know where I'll go after that, but I don't care. Anywhere with a fan and no bugs will be like heaven.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb