Our trip to Delphi


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece
July 2nd 2008
Published: July 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This morning Lois, Gunter, and I rented a car and drove to the ancient ruins of Delphi. Randi Jo didn't think she should go because she was feeling spiritually vulnerable and Delphi was one the centers for cult activity in ancient Greece.

We drove from Galaxidhi, where we were anchored, to the edge of Itea, the next town over. The drive was beautiful!! The road winding all along the coastline, up and down the hillsides. I have decided that I love cyprus trees, they are in fact now my favorite tree. They look so elegant, appearing to stand watch over their appointed patch of earth. Maybe I have just been in tree withdrawel, who knows, but it is wonderful to see green again.

After passing the outskirts of Itea, we drove through a valley, an entire valley covered with olive trees. It was breathtaking, especially when we drove higher up the mountain, and looked out over the olive grove, with cyprus trees scattered here and there.

We then continued on the winding road up to Delphi, the modern town situated below the ancient ruins which are located on the side of the mountain looking over another deep valley. I completely understand why the ancient Greeks chose this spot, or why, as they believed, Apollo chose this spot for his temple, it is beautiful. The valley, the mountain, the cyprus trees, and the loud humming of super large cricket type things. The area has a definite mystery about it.

The ruins were fabulous!! My favorite ancient ruins site so far I think. There was the Temple of Apollo, where the oracle sat over the vapors, muttering "predictions" which were then interpreted by the "priests." There were umpteen treasuries of the differnt cities, the most intact being the treasury of the Athenians. I personally think the entire thing was a scam. The "priests" took some poor girl from around the country, kept her so drugged up on whatever, then "interpreted" her unintelligible sputterings as the future. Many political decisions were made based on what the Oracle said. Then of course everyone was so grateful that they gave money, and statues, and who knows what else to "Apollo." So the priests were doing pretty well for themselves I would say, running the country, basically, receiving insane amounts of treasure for it, and just chilling out on their mountain. Pretty clever I guess. I wonder if bribes, or "gifts" had any influence over these mystical interpretations of the future. A very suspicious enterprise.

Despite the absurdity of the goings on and purposes of Delphi, the ruins and scenary were delightful. The treasuries are located towards the base of the site, then Apollos temple a liitle higher. We followed the zig zag path paths higher to the theater, which rests back in the rock, with the audience seats facing the surrounding mountains and valley below. All the way up the winding stone pathways, the stadion is found, with the seats of honor located at the north end of the arena. It was used for all sorts of things, athletics, musical contests, conferences, etc...

The musem was also fabulous, and well laid out. Several of the statues caught my attention, something about the facial expression. Maybe this only happens to me, and maybe I am crazy, but sometimes I feel like certain statues are trying to tell me something, but can only communicate with look not word. It amazes me how sculptors can make a slab of stone come to life, how they can uncover the being inside, and let it take its form. I recently finished reading the Agony and the Ecstasy, which was nice because I got to see how Michaelangelo treated his creations. It made me have a new appreciation for the long hours, and years of work put into every piece of stone work.

I thoroughly enjoyed the visit to Delphi, and would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Greece.








Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

ArtifactsArtifacts
Artifacts

found in the temples and treasuries


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb