Over the Schengen Line


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Thrace » Alexandroupoli
June 8th 2016
Published: June 8th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I crossed back into Greece, the EU and the Schengen Area today. A pretty routine bus ride except that I was singled out for special treatment at the border by the Greeks. They searched my bags and asked me about where I was going - and what had I been doing in North Cyprus (the part occupied by Turkey). Aha! Funny how the government of Cyprus seems pretty cool about people crossing over to the North but the Greeks get their knickers in a twist over it.

I couldn't help but laugh at how the road surface on the Turkish side got worse and worse as we approached the frontier. I don't think I saw one road sign in Turkey naming Greece or a Greek town. How childish!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb