Email blog from Santorini


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean
September 20th 2006
Published: September 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Jeff, at this point I can't upload photos but I may be able to sweet talk the people at the computer place into letting me use the computer for downloading etc, without chargeing me the earth.

Nat: I have brought the ticket for the 7am flight CHCH-DN for Tue 10th OCT, I couldn't email you as my E3 account is playing up right now. I get into CHCH on Monday 9th at 2pm. The flight is: Emirates EK 412 from Dubai.

Dad, I get into Dunedin at 8am on Tuesday the 10 October!!

Julieanne: Hi Babe! Have a look at my blogs on Hvar Island. You will see pictures of my crazy Italians.........and also of a great sunset. Today it is windy and there are big clouds brewing. Pavlos told me they are having rain and storms in Athens. I am having a rest day today. Haven't seen anyone else come into the hotel so I"m still on my lonesome.........ha ha ha

Yesterday the weather and light were perfect and I went on the bus to Oia. What a laugh. I took the 2pm bus and so did half the school kids. They pack all the tourists onto the bus, then the kids get on and cram up the isles, it was crazy. And then a man walks down through the crush of people taking your money and giving you a ticket. Why they don't just give you a ticket when you enter the bus I have no idea???

In Oia, as the LP says, it is a mad rush to secure a spot to see the sunset. It was crazy, and the main tourist season is over now. I would hate to be here in July/August. To be fair to Croatia though, the sunset I saw on Hvar Island matched the one I saw last night in Oia.

In Oia I was sitting out the back of a bakery shop in the shade trying to cool down as I had been walking around for 3 hours or so in baking heat.....probably about 35 degrees C. Anyway this old Greek man sees me and hands me this neat tourist book on Santorini, why I have no idea but it has lots of good information. People here are doing nice things for me all the time.

I have tonnes of photos, many of which I am really pleased with so I will try to get some up on the site.

Gotta go, time is about to run out.

Dee

Advertisement



20th September 2006

Pick up
Sweet Dee - will see you @ Ch.Ch International Mon 9th Oct around 2pm (slightly thereafter post customs I would imagine). Keep enjoying every day ...WAHOO !! :-)

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb