Syros


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Syros » Azolimnos
September 20th 2010
Published: September 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

SYROS - oh dear, this is going to be short and uninteresting.... apart from the 2 funny stories. So, we arrived to the normal group of room touts. Well, I guess sometimes you get it right, and sometimes you get it wrong...... oh, so very wrong. Hey, its pot luck!!!
So this very nice guy, told me about his rooms, nice area, balcony, sea view, fridge, twin beds. 25 Euros. Sounded about right. So we agreed, and walked ( walked!!!! that was a first... although Syros is built on steps mostly, although there is car access), through the streets to his place. As the street changed to back alley, I looked at John and said I wasnt going to like it. But, you gotta stay positive havent you. Havent you?? Well, the room, in a word... YUK. The wall paper ( who has wallpaper in Greece anyway???) was peeling off the wall, the chandelier - best plastic - was grey, and the air con unit was black. He said it worked tho. The balcony, well, yes, it could be reached from the hall way, covered in dirt and cigarette stubs... the sea view, asked hopefully. Oh yes, you come down the hall, up some stairs, past storage boxes ( I was thinking about mice at this point), and the fridge? Of course, that worked, after a fashion when John turned it up a few notches. I said no way was I staying - in my most polite, thank you but I think we'll have a look around. John tried to look hopeful, and matey then said - how about 20 euros then. I said, no, thank you very kindly anyway, but we're still going to go have a look around. Matey said, please, please stay, I give you for 15 euros, please, please. I thought he was going to get on his knees and start to cry. I have my reasons, he said. He said, you are the 6th people today who all say no, I really cant understand it..... I thought, "I can"..... I wondered whether to explain it to him.. anyway, we are such soft flippin touches, that we agreed for just one night. OMG...... Anyway, to cut it short, we went and found ourselves a very nice studio, fetched our rucksacks from the hovel, and put it down to experience and the affirmation that next time, we are not going to be pushovers.
Next day, we decided to take a bus across the island to a nice coastal village. Thats funny story number two. We got on the bus, admired the scenery, missed our village and ended up back at the port, approximately one hour later.
Thats it. That was Syros. We have bought our tickets for the ferry out of Syros, to the (hopefully) loely island of Tinos tomorrow lunch time.
Oh, we took a picture of a nice looking fish in the town.... a dead one, not live......

Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb