It's been a while!


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Santorini
June 12th 2011
Published: June 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello all!

So It's been a while since we last updated the blog, but here goes nothing......

A lot has happened since our last entry. Dusans birthday was great. We ended up rolling back into the apartment at 8AM! So the next day we ended up sleeping until 5 or so and saying good bye to the people we met. Nothing too crazy.

Early next day we got up and caught a ride to Belgrade airport to catch our ride to Athens. Nothing too exciting there, but figuring out the Athens metro/ train system sure was entertaining! Every thing we used to find out where we were going was outdated so we made a whole bunch of random stops and may or may not have gotten off and the wrong stop. Athens as a city was also pretty dirty other than the big sites there was to see there. I wasn't very impressed to say the least, but we did figure out how the metro works!

We also took a day trip up to Kalambaka to see Meteora. The whole 10 hour day trip there and back was a little long but the sites were the best on this trip by far! I would highly suggest anyone to take this trip. We even met some people at our hostel here, that are changing their plans to go and see it!

After the sites of Athens we decided we needed to check out Pireas port and grab our tickets to Santorini, and enjoy some delicious Gyros. To our dismay we find the metro is on strike from the times we need to be at the ferry terminal......Great. To make it even better, the internet at the hostel was down, so no pre booking a hostel. What did we do? Drink........A lot! So I stayed up drinking until it was time to take our taxi down to the ferry. I feel sorry for the 2 Asian girls who rode in the taxi with us because I drunk talked to them the whoooooole ride down lol. I was also very suprised they would let me on the ferry. I remember little of the ferry ride over there because I slept most of the 7 hours out there. So I'll leave it at that!

This now leads to where we are here. Santorini Greece! One word to describe it here, Gorgeous!! I feel like I'm on a little vacation on my vacation. The sites here are incredible and the people are awesome. We've met some of the coolest people from our trip so far here, and the experience has been great. We actually took ATV's around the island yesterday to catch a few more spots of the island. This place is a must see.

We leave Santorini tomorrow for Crete, and hopefully will have just as nice things to say. But I'll leave it there!

Ryan




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb