First Day of Work


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
June 12th 2011
Published: April 27th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I’m not gonna write on a daily basis – I promise. But at the beginning it is so much easier to write everything out.

Yesterday when I arrived I felt a bit lost but I must have been really tired. Today I woke up with a positive mindset although I was thinking really hard how to get a pet to my room. I mean a pet I choose (not like the mentioned but never-seen-yet-centipedes). It would mean company and I would really don’t mind that we don’t speak the same language – here I gave up my goal to improve my Italian or English. Slovakian and Greeks seems like an option. Greek seems a lot more essential every day…





Regarding the morning wake up today, I thought that the manager said when I wake up, I’ll start. I knew this doesn’t mean what it sounds like: I can sleep as long as I want… So I set my alarm at 7.40am, should be fine.

The damn thing rang to early for my liking so I snoozed it like every right minded person would have done so if he would be in a cool island like this. There must be a rational explanation I can come up with later on rather then „I overslept”.

The know on my door came only 20 minutes later from one of the Slovakian girls, so my extra morning nap is out of the question now.

I tried to dress up really quick and int he meanwhile I noted that I might have some beginning form of schizophrenia as I set the alarm early on purpose to avoid to seem like a lazy Hungarian… but the lazy Hungarian inside my head won this time.



The cleaning manager, aka my line manager/boss was a 50-60-something short Greek lady whose facial expression was not so reassuring for the first sight, but she was really nice with me. During breakfast she urged me in Greek to eat more and slowly as we are not in a hurry. She was preparing the leaflet for each of us showing where will we clean that day. I was put together a Bulgarian girl, will tell about her later.



So the lady-boss was feeding me indirectly. For breakfast there was white bread with marmalade but after having a good look at me, she decided that if I eat only this I’ll faint two hours later so she asked the assistant chef to bring some cheese, a slice of meat and an egg.

I was really struggling to understand what did the Slovakian girls mean when they talked about the treatment here. Clearly they care about the little man. I quickly decided not to take their opinions’ granted as they tend to be negative.

And I tend to judge with slight delays.

- I grabbed a slice of bread: dry. No problem, another one will do… Cautiously – so I won’t disgust the others – I kept grabbing through all six slices of bread. They would have been fit to kill anyone with a single strike. Well, I either grind them with my teeth or I’ll stay hungry. The marmalade on the other hand was surprisingly good.

- I moved on to the slice of meat, the cheese and the egg. By that time I somehow managed to make the bread edible (never really thought that I will ever mention dry, hard bread as my breakfast though). I chewed or minced the bread slowly and started to work on the eggshell. Bless them, the egg was soft-boiled. Meaning that it was almost raw – but I know that for some people it’s heaven itself. I was praying for the bread crumbs to stay down with the marmalade. The egg was put aside, but! I had water for my dry bread which was nice.



Apart from this slight mishap of the lady-boss, she remained kind in my eyes, a person who cares about others. For example, yesterday she was giving me light instructions to eat my food with me hands otherwise I’m not going to sleep today (it was fish, ok…) as I was eating really slow. The girls have sent some pretty looks over to the assistant chef who brought us a cake which had sesame on the top and it pretty much look like a cake we call f*cked up at home. You know, the dough looked half raw, etc… But apparently the cake was supposed to look like this. Still it look like semoline baked into a cake.

The lady cut slices to us and my Slovakian colleagues started to downgrade it in rough Hungarian which pretty much sound like… well, like any language spoken by people from small towns or from the countryside.

They binned their slice of cake after they spent a few minutes raping my ears with their disturbing Hungarian accent.



The day and work has finally started with my Bulgarian colleague, whose name shall be Elena for this blog…

My lady-boss has told me to fetch „eli” as my first task. I was thinking really hard what would she need first to train me and show me stuff. I was pointing to the broom, to the bucket full of detergents, to the mop, to the bed sheets. She shaked her head and made a face like she’s talking to an autistic person. All in all, I needed a few more minutes of Greek instructions when I finally got to find Elena to ask for her help. I stood in front of her and moaned: „eli!”. She smiled and pointed to the bucket with all the cleaning stuff in it. I grabbed it and brought itt o my boss.

I save you all from further details, here’s the long story short: eli = Elena. My boss thought that we really don’t understand each other so she passed me onto Elena.



The cleaning itself:

- the rooms are not too big and they have 3 parts: bathroom, terrace and the room itself.

- we put things in order, wipe the dust from the furniture, make the bed, sweep the floor and mop up.

- Elena is patient, although English will not be practiced with her either.

- they really have an eye for hair: when you mop the floor there should not be one hairbreadth on the wet floor.

- things that did not matter before, do now: you must fold and place the towel the way they want you to.

So now I ask everyone that when you go to a hotel, please just spare a minute of your life going to the bathroom to admire the towel as it is. Because it has been placed there carefully with love and attention to tiny, irrelevant details. I don’t even want to think of the impenitent, barbarian guests who just grab it and use it. Terrible people.

- making the bed is my personal nightmare as I am horrible with it. But that’s no surprise as I lack of previous personal experience and there are three (!!!) ways of making the bed: whether the guest is still there, left the room or will just arrive that day.



About making the bed:

- we've been through around 10-15 rooms on the first day. I've examined in all of them how to make the bed. In the last room, Elena finally let me do it alone. When I finished, she complimented me: „bravo, super”. Then she made the bed again.

- the worst is that everything needs to be tucked under the mattress. This must be difficulty for me to do as it always looked disgusting when I did it.

- there were many things I did not understand why I’m doing it differently from the last room. When I asked Eli she asked me to repeat my question as she doesn't really speak English. I repeated the question, used simplier or different words. She ignored me and continued cleaning. I noted that this must be the Bulgarian version of „I've already told you that I don’t speak English dumb-ass”, so I let her be.



The lady-boss once came to us while cleaning and let Eli and I eat a cereal bar from the fridge as the guests have already left the room and they left some stuff behind. Usually there were tips in the rooms as well, so Eli had a good day.



In her own way she warned me that when I will spend the day with my lady-boss and she will train me, I will be crying the whole day and escape at the end of the day.

After Eli told me this, I attempted to memorize the art of making the bed with a renewed vigor.



We started working at 9am and finished everything at 14.30pm. Both of us were glad and I felt that finishing with the rooms early has it’s benefits – after you’re free! Which is not the case, as Eli quickly told me. If I finish earlier, it is only good for me. We went straight to the laundry room to her friend to hang out there. As they were talking in Bulgarian for a good half an hour, E. tried to introduce me the beauty of sweeping the floor outside – which is a good „time-killer” if I finished earlier.

I understood that this way the manager thinks we actually worked the 8 hours, but I you were given a certain amount of rooms and you’ve done them, why should I act like I fake I’m busy?



After lunch (which was good, they just have different flavors) I went to my room for an afternoon sleep. After that I thought I can get to the town, to Skala to buy some fruit in the market. Or something to my fridge.

I woke up at 19.30 and dinner was at 21.00. I didn’t want to miss that. Maybe I’ll go after dinner.



A little bit sad but I did not swim in the sea yet. However, on my first day after writing here, I did go down to the beach and took some pictures, and some of the hotel. I wandered around the shore and I loved it.



Unfortunately, I’ve come across a scary fact yesterday at the beach. I am at a beautiful and unique seashore in an island of Greece and I will not be on any photo with this scenery. Unless I learn how to take selfies… Even the thought gave me physical pain but the scenery is truly awesome and this is the only way to keep a memory for my family and myself that I have been here, I am not beaten and I am really fine.

I’ve uploaded some pictures of the hotel as well. Enjoy!



MAGYARUL - IN HUNGARIAN



Megígérem, hogy nem fogok naponta írni, de így az elején úgy érzem, muszáj kiírnom magamból a dolgokat.
Tegnap este kicsit céltalannak éreztem az egészet, de tényleg fáradt lehettem. Ma már sokkal pozitívabban keltem, de erősen gondolkodom rajta, hogy beszerzek a szobámba valami háziállatot, olyat, amilyet én akarok, hogy ott legyen, és talán le is vadássza a még meg nem jelent százlábúakat vagy egyéb szörnyeket. És persze egy kis társaságot is jelentene, az már teljesen hidegen hagyna, hogy nem értjük egymás szavát - itt már lemondtam, hogy gyakorlatiasan fejlesztem az angolt vagy az olaszt. A maximum, hogy megtanulok kicsit szlovákul és görögül. A görög egyre szükségesebbnek látszik...

A ma reggeli keléssel kapcsolatban, gondoltam, a főnök tegnap azt mondta, hogy amikor felkelek, kezdek. Mondom, beállítom a telefonomat 7.40-re, az elég lesz. Bosszantóan hamar megszólalt a rohadék, úgyhogy kinyomtam, ahogy minden normális ember tenné, ha egy ilyen király kis szigeten van. Biztos meg lehet nekik magyarázni valahogy, korai szieszta vagy tudom is én mi...
Jöttek értem 8-kor egy szlovák lány személyében, úgyhogy tárgytalan lett a pihi. Siettem, mint a barom, és megállapítottam, hogy lehet hogy kezdődő tudathasadásban szenvedek, mivel direkt hamarabb akartam felkelni, hogy ne keltsem a lusta, dolgozni nem akaró magyar hatását.



A lusta, dolgozni nem akaró magyar énem viszont fölényesen győzött ma reggel.

A cleaning manager, magyarul a főnököm egy 50-60 körüli alacsony, görög hölgyemény, akinek az arcán nem látszik elsőre, de nagyon kedves. A reggelinél görögül unszolt, hogy egyek még, nem sietünk sehova, ő közben összeállította, hogy ki hol takarít majd. Én egy bolgár lányhoz lettem beosztva.

A főnökasszony tehát etetett, közvetetten. Reggelire fehér és fehér kenyér volt kitéve, lekvárral; de ő - talán végignézett rajtam, és úgy ítélte, ha ezeket eszem, akkor két óra múlva beájulok - a konyhai segédszakáccsal hozatott egy tányéron egy sajtot, egy felvágottat és egy tojást.

Nem igazán értettem, a szlovák lányok mitől ilyen negatívak: itt figyelnek a kisemberre is, úgyhogy elkönyveltem, hogy ezek gyorsan ítélkeznek.

Én pedig apró fáziskéséssel ítélkezek:

- megragadom az egyik kenyeret: száraz. Mondom, nem baj, majd egy másik. Óvatosan, hogy más étvágyát el ne vegyem vele, végigfogdostam mind a 6 kenyeret. Ölni lehetett volna velük. Hát, vagy ledarálom a fogaimmal, vagy éhen maradok. A lekvár viszont meglepően jó volt.
- jött a felvágott-sajt-tojás adag. Addigra egészen feljavítottam a száraz kenyeret (nem gondoltam volna, hogy valaha komolyan száraz kenyeret emlegetek majd reggelimként), úgyhogy komótosan megőröltem, és hozzáláttam a tojás pucolásához. Egyem a szivüket, lágy volt. De nem egyszerűen: a nyers tojás ízét is felfedeztem benne, de tudom, hogy ez néhány embernek maga a mennyország. Én imádkoztam, hogy az értékes lekváros kenyerem ne jöjjön vissza, úgyhogy tojás mellőzve.
- száraz kenyeremhez víz dukált, az legalább jó volt.

Ettől a malőrjétől eltekintve, a főnökasszony megmaradt kedves hölgynek a szememben, aki figyel a másikra. Tegnap a vacsinál is utasítgatott, finoman: egyek kézzel-lábbal, különben sose megyek aludni; miközben én rohadt lassan ettem (hal volt, na!), a segédszakácsra szépen néztek a lányok és hozott nekünk egy torta alakú sütinek tűnő édességet, aminek szezámmag volt a tetején, és olyan állagúnak tűnt, mint egy elcseszett, szalonnás csokissüti. De nem az volt. Mintha a grízt megsütötték volna piskótának. De legalább édes volt - a főnökasszony ebből is vágott, mert sorra jártak rá a szlovákok, hogy aztán hangosan fikázzák, főleg magyarul: "Há' hülyék ezök? Bazzeg, ááá, há' ez gríz! Olyán szár ez mint áz öbéd, neköm ez nem kő'..." - Aranyosak voltak, és lendületesen kivágták a kukába...

Megkezdtem a munkát a bolgár lánnyal, hívjuk Elenának. Illetve, a főnökasszonnyla kezdtem, aki "eli"-ért küldött. Járt az agyam, mi kellhet neki először... Már mutogattam a seprűre, a vödörnyi tisztítószerre, a felmosóra, az ágyneműkre. Rázza a fejét, és olyan arcot vág, mintha egy autistával beszélne.
Kellett pár görög utasítássorozat, mire eljutottam Elenáig, aki elé odaálltam, és segélykérően kinyögtem neki: "eli". Mosolygott, rámutatott a vödörre, amiben a tisztítócuccok voltak. Felkaptam és vittem a főnökasszonyhoz.
Megkímélek mindenkit a további részletektől, a lényeg: eli = Elena; a főnökasszony súlyos meg nem értettség miatt lemondott aznapra rólam, és Elihez passzolt, amit jól tett.

Maga a takarítás:
- nem túl nagy szobák vannak, fix 3 részből áll: fürdő, terasz és a szoba maga.
- összepakolunk, letörölgetünk, kicserélgetünk dolgokat, ágyazunk, felsöprünk és felmosunk.
- Eli türelmes, de az angolt vele se fogom tudni gyakorolni, ahogy még sorolhatnám, hogy kikkel nem.
- nagyon ügyelnek a hajszálakra, főleg a végső felmosáskor - egy se maradhat.
- nem mindegy, hogy rakom a törülközőket, melyik oldala merre néz, úgyhogy arra kérek mindenkit, ha szállodába megy, hogy szánjon fél percet a fürdőszobai törülközők megcsodálására, hiszen hatalmas műgonddal lett odatéve, megigazgatva - néhány elvetemült vendég meg csak lerántja és használja. Szörnyű.
- az ágyazás nagyon nem megy, és ezen ne tessék csodálkozni. Nemcsak a korábbi gyakorlat hibádzik kissé, de háromféleképpen kéne ágyazni, annak megfelelően, hogy ott van-e még a vendég, elment-e, vagy érkezik-e.

Az ágyazásról:
- 10-15 szobán mentünk végig, és az utolsónál egyedül igyekeztem a bonyolult mozdulatsort véghez vinni, és Eli végre azt mondta, hogy "bravo, super". Eddig is ezt mondta, csak utána az orrom előtt újraágyazott.
- a legrosszabb, hogy be kell tűrni az ágy matraca alá a dolgokat. Ez ment nehézkesen, mert gusztustalanul nézett ki. Ráadásul megvolt ennek a módszere, amit lestem folyamatosan, mindegyik ágynál, de magamtól mégse ment...
- volt sokminden amit nem értettem, mit miért csinálok, miért máshogy, mint az előző szobánál. Megkérdeztem Elit, aki mondta, hogy ismételjem meg a kérdést, mert nem nagyon érti, nem tud annyira angolul. Megismételtem, egyszerűbben, erre folytatta a munkát, és nem válaszolt. Ez lehet a bolgár formája a: "mit nem értesz azon, hogy nem beszélek angolul"-nak, úgyhogy hagytam az egészet.

A főnökasszony egyik alkalommal odajött az egyik szobához, és felhatalmazta Elit, hogy együnk egy-egy müzli szeletet a hűtőből. A vendégek persze már elmentek, nem előlük ettük. Eli még pár dollárt is kapott az egyik szobánál, jó napja volt. 😊

Folyamatosan figyelmeztetett, hogy ha a főnökasszonnyal leszek egész nap, és ő "tanít be", akkor egész nap kiabál és sírva fogok menekülni előle. Ezek után újult erővel igyekeztem memorizálni az ágyazás művészetét.

A munkát kb. 9 körül kezdhettük, elég sokáig tartott a reggeli, meg a cetlik kiosztása, és 2.30-kor fejeztük be, aminek mindketten örültünk, úgy éreztem megéri gyorsan végezni, utána szabad leszek. A francokat.
Eli szerint: ha korán végzek az csak nekem jó. Logikusan következett ebből, hogy nekem az volt a jó, ha a mosodába beülök vele, a barátnőjéhez, akik bolgárul dumáltak fél órát, de előtte próbált rávezetni a szabadban söprögetés szépségeire, amivel "elüthetem az időt", ha korán végeztem.
Sejtem én, hogy a főnök így azt hiszi, ledolgozzunk a 8 órát, na de ha meg volt adva valamennyi szoba és végeztünk azokkal, akkor mit mímeljek még?

Ebéd után - azért finom volt, csak másabb ízeik vannak - ledőltem aludni, gondoltam, utána bemegyek a városba, Skalába, hogy keressek egy piacot, hogy gyümölcsöt vehessek, vagy legalább valamit a kishűtőbe. Nem ragozom, fél 8-kor keltem... 9-kor vacsi, amiről nem akarok lemaradni.

Meglepő, és kicsit elkeserítő, de nem fürödtem még a tengerben, és ahogy említettem, Skalában se voltam még. Ma este benézek, kaja után rögtön.

Még az első napomon, miután írtam ide nektek, fényképeztem még, elég sokat: a hotelről, és bejártam a partot és nagyon tetszett.

A gyász pillanatai következnek.
Rá kellett döbbennem a szomorú tényre, hogy akkor leszek rajta a képeken a 3 hónap alatt, ha megtanulom lefényképezni magamat. Megjegyzem, fizikai fájdalmat okozott már maga a tudat is. De nagyon szép volt a táj, és ez az egyetlen módja, hogy bizonyítsam a rokonoknak, hogy itt vagyok, nem vertek agyon, nincsenek monoklijaim, és hogy még mindig a magyar súlyommal rendelkezem, ami remélem, idővel változni fog.

Pár képet felteszek a nagynéném, Tündi szállodájáról, lássátok, milyen szép 😉 (nem rokonoknak: a Tündink vezetékneve: Szkala. Ahol vagyok, Skala. 😉)
És pár képet a közeli partról is pakolok fel.

Tényleg nem szeretnék naponta írogatni, de így az elején még kényelmes 😊

Mindenki vigyázzon magára, én is igyekszem, bár némelyik görög kaja nem könnyíti meg a dolgomat...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb