Day 49


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
October 25th 2010
Published: October 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 49: Monday October 25, 2010

We got up this morning at 6:30am, I went back to my room, boiled 2 eggs, one for each of us for lunch, and changed for the day. Isabelle and Jenn came for breakfast; we’re trying to finish Isabelle’s yogurt in the next few days because it’s close to expiring, so we ate up my first box of cereal with her honey, cinnamon and yogurt.

We left for the dig, I packed an apple, cookies and the eggs for lunch. I figured it would have to last us until we had time to go grocery shopping, maybe after the dig today? And I also packed an entire roll of toilet paper, that was given to me at the hostel after my bubbly-nose fiasco, and I kept for the ride back to Poros and hope to finish it with my cold. It was helpful to have an access of tissue at the dig, while I strenuously worked at picking the soil and evening out our trench. We were suppose to pour libations of wine and water as a little ceremony to the child burial, as a final step to finishing the burial after lunch, but it started to downpour like crazy!! We packed up right after our 10:30am lunch break, and waited for about 20 minutes for Vasilis and our savior bus. By the time he got to our site, we were all huddled either inside the storage portable, or under an umbrella, but still we were soaked to the bone. We pretty much soaked the bus, got the floors completely muddy and there’s got to be a damp smell in that bus now. But the ride was warm and drove us straight back to our apartments which was more than appreciated.

Back home I took a warm/luke warm shower, hung all my wet dig clothes to dry in my room, with my fan going, and warmed up in my sweatpants and hot water. I caught up on some emails, all of my blog entries since before the Athens trip and Isabelle came over to discuss our trip to Paris, which ticket prices seem to be going up and do some Greek homework. It was pouring rain so I never ended up going grocery shopping, but I have Lisa my makeup pads and in exchange she’s agreed to buy me bananas on her grocery store run with Jerry and his car. Isabelle and I stayed in, had tea, ate some chicken nuggets for snack and did some Greek on our own, because it was canceled due to heavy rain and our prof doesn’t want the whole class getting sick from each other and the wet and cold weather.

I finished my Greek vocab stuff for the week, didn’t start on the homework, but I figured it was good enough for the day. Until 7:30pm, I was online replying to emails and organizing my photos from the trip so far. I invited Lainie online to come to Neil’s with us for dinner and so she came by at 7:30 and we all went down together, bringing the Tonka toy and chocolates we bought for Gioria and Geoffrey since they couldn’t do the whole trip with us. When we got there, Neil served us up some refried baked beans he homemade this afternoon, and we waited till Jenn, Jerry and Lisa arrived (which was about an hour later or so). Then Neil took out the mini pita pizzas with a mix of: pesto sauce, mushrooms, onions, pepperoni, bacon, sun dried tomatoes, green peppers, feta, mozzarella cheese all on small personal-sized pita bread. We had about 3 slices each and they were brought out in batches of 3 pizzas. Some weren’t fans of mushroom, so Jenn and I had our fill of them! It was simple and delicious. Half way through waiting for the last pizza, we brought out the gifts and they both loved them! Gioria never let go of her toy once we all signed it, and Geoffrey had his chocolates with him all night. Lisa bought dessert; custard-filled cupcakes with icings and frostings outside. They were delicious and I had 1 too many, I ate 2!! I definitely need to be running more than I’ve been, and taking dessert a lot less just before bed too! We walked home, in the middle of a storm break close to 10:20pm and the roads were wet but no rain was to be found. There was just amazing lighting flashing almost very second in the sky. It was beautiful and a little scary all at once.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0763s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb