Day 38


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
October 14th 2010
Published: October 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 38: Day Trip to Argostoli

7:30am I woke up to talk to my boyfriend on skype, and then got changed for our daily runs at 8:30am. I met with Isabelle at the steps and we ran for a good 40 minutes. It was cooler today than yesterday, so we didn’t break into as much of a sweat, thankfully! We could feel our workout from yesterday, but it was reassuring that we can feel the muscle gain. We got back just after 9am, I took a shower and Isabelle came over for breakfast. We cooked up a potato I had laying around, the rest of my red onions and green peppers, and added 1 of our sausages from yesterday, an egg and a slice of cheese. It was a nice hash to reward our early morning run…after only having 6 and a half hours of sleep. At 9:55am we headed down to class to do some more pottery cataloging practice with our trench groups, and we finished class just past 12noon.

After class, Isabelle and I headed back to the apartments and got news that Jerry wanted to take Lisa, Jen, Isabelle and I to Argostoli today for a nice little day trip in the afternoon. So we had lunch (left over congee, spread able cheese with crackers, I sliced a mango and had an apple later for snack), did some internet stuff, I got some laundry washed and is drying, and started to watch ‘Captain Corelli’s Mandolin’ (so I could see what happens on St. Jerasimos Day in Kefalonia, it’s coming up on October 20th, which is Jerry’s birthday celebration day). We only watched about half the movie, when Lisa came by and grabbed us to go to Argostoli. We all met up at Neil’s and Jerry packed us 4 in the back of his car and him and Neil sat up front. We drove for almost 30 mins and hit the big Carrefour grocery store. We stopped there since it was only 4pm and all the shops in Argostoli would be having their siesta until 5 or 5:30pm anyway. So I bought some cookies, another juice carton and some chocolate, coming to just under 6 EU. I wanted to get some spreadable cheeses and yogurt, but considering we’d still be going to Argostoli and not be back home for a few hours I thought it was unwise to leave it sitting in Jerry’s trunk.

At around 4:50pm we left the grocery store and drove for 10 minutes till Argostoli. There we found some banks, where Lisa and Jenn had to try and take money out of because their banks changed systems on them and can no longer access their accounts (Coast Capital Savings and VanCity). We finally found a bank that could access their accounts, but Jenn could only take out 100 EU. Hopefully she can call them and sort things out before her next withdrawal or before she runs out of money. We also went into a few cheap stores that are all run by Chinese people, who speak Greek! The ‘Asia Market’ wasn’t open and was a long walk away so we went into a few other Asian stores. I bought some underwear for only 1 EU each, while Lisa, Jenn and Isabelle bought more clothes. I figured I had done enough shopping and brought enough clothes that I didn’t need anything else. We agreed to meet back at this café by 6:15pm, and we made it with 20 mins to spare. Once Lisa grabbed a coffee and Jenn got an ice cream, we walked back to Jerry’s car and stopped to buy THE MOST DELICIOUS chocolate I have ever had! It was from this really expensive-looking store, where Jerry had bought Lisa chocolates before; he bought chocolate that had banana cream between layers of wafer, all covered in chocolate. He gave us each one and had a few left over (maybe to give to Lisa or keep for himself?).

After that we stopped off at an electronic store along the way home, and Isabelle found a USB extension cord she’s been looking for. We headed back for Poros, since we had a group dinner with our class at 7:30pm, but had to stop about 20 minutes away because Jerry’s driving and the windy roads were making Lisa feel motion sickness. Once she felt better, we road back all the way to Poros, Jerry dropped Isablle, Jenn and I off at our dinner, only about 10 minutes late, and then dropped off our groceries with Lisa back at the apartment since she wasn’t in the mood to eat. We ate a Pantelli’s; I had a freshly squeezed orange juice, saganaki, Greek salad (the 2 split between Jenn, Isabelle, our prof and Gioria), and I had as a main, moussaka (I could only eat half and brought the rest home with me for lunch tomorrow). We had some great conversation with our prof during dinner, and then we three, plus the other Steph and her mom got ice cream from Pantelli’s before we left for our apartments. I had a strawberry ice cream in a cone, and it was delicious!! It’s the freshest strawberry ice cream I’ve ever tasted! It wasn’t too creamy, and closer to a strawberry sorbet. It was nice and light!

After that, we all walked back and Jenn and Isabelle came into my room. We tried going into Lisa’s room to grab our groceries but she was asleep and had her door locked already. So we just hung out in my room, gabbed and gossiped, Jenn left for bed around 11pm, Isabelle used my internet for a little while and I finally got around to updating my blog entry! I’m probably going for another run tomorrow morning, so I’ve got to get to bed now!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb