Day 24


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
October 1st 2010
Published: November 30th -0001
Edit Blog Post

Day 24

Today I woke up at 6:30am again to talk to my boyfriend until I had to leave at 7:25, to make it down for the 7:30am leave for the excavation site as usual. Isabelle and I sit together almost each day, today wasn’t any different. The dig was fun; I got to excavate more around the pithos burial that mine and Isabelle’s trenches share and by the end of the day we covered it all up with a wheel barrel in case of cradle robbers (my prof also mentioned we could have sealed the wholes with plastic wrap and then piled dirt on top). We were all exhausted by the end of the day, and so when we got back, the weather had held up and stayed sunny all day (despite the cold breeze in the morning) so Isabelle and I went to the beach again.

We didn’t make it into the water because we were both pretty tired, so we just closed our eyes and talked on the beach till just after 4pm. We made it back to our apartments. I showered and decided to wash some laundry before pottery washing at 5pm. Isabelle came down while I was hanging it all to dry, then we left for class.

My trench stayed the latest, as usual, washing our pottery because we keep finding SO much! It was nice when it started, but now it’s just more work to wash it all. Everyone else was done and had left at 6:30 the latest, but we stayed till around 7pm, a good 2 hours of full washing. We’re still 2 days behind on our washing (we still need to wash yesterday and today’s findings, but my prof said it can be done later, even in November). At 7pm we walked back to our apartments, I sorted through some souvenirs and emails, then at 8pm we met up again at the Hercules building to walk down for dinner at a restaurant called Vanessa. It was just past the beach boardwalk and across the bridge. We ordered saganaki (fried cheese) and tzatziki for appetizers for 4 of us, while another group ordered the same 2 with fries and a Greek salad. I tried some of the salad and it was the same as anywhere else here but delicious all the same! I ordered an orange Fanta pop too, since I never get a drink and it’s all included with our dinner fees (student fees we paid for already). Then the waiter came by for our dinner orders, the fish and lobster they serve is fresh from the owner’s boat that day so I knew for sure I wanted fish. I ordered the Thai Pinzer (some kind of fish I guess?) dish; it came with fries and the fish was enveloped in aluminum foil and seasoned with chili peppers and garlic. They said it came with ginger too, but I couldn’t taste any. Regardless it was spicy, fresh, hot and delicious! I added vinegar to my fries since it comes with the bread anyway (bread was unlimited and served, as usual, with olive oil and vinegar here). I finished the whole thing and felt 110% full! I knew that fish and fries would not make for good leftovers the next day so I did my best to make the best of my fully paid meal. Next group dinner I think I’ll go for the fresh squeezed orange juice; it’s ACTUALLY hand-pressed and is full of pulp and delicious sweetness! We didn’t have desert since we were all super full, so we all walked back at about 10:30pm (a typical dinner in Greece starts late and ends very late). Isabelle came over to use my internet to talk to her sister for the first time tonight; she’s on the patio so I hope she doesn’t get tons of mosquito bites! Luckily I’ve been covering up as much as I can these past few days so I haven’t gotten any new ones and the calamine lotion is helping with the ones I had earlier. Tomorrow should be day 3 of these bites so I’m hoping they’ll be not itchy at all by the time we’re in Ithaki!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb