Day 3


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
September 10th 2010
Published: September 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 3: Corinth

8am my roommate and I headed down for breakfast, since we had to checkout by 9am and be at the bus depot, which was only a block away, with our luggage at that time. There were a few girls in our group who had too much fun; came through the entire hotel drunk, one brought a man home for the night and woke up nearly half the hotel (including other guests at the hotel). Unfortunately the other hotel guests complained, since some of the girls started to knock on doors, not knowing if they belonged to our group or not. And now my prof is forced to personally phone the hotel and apologize for their behavior. Anyway, it didn’t take away from our adventures.

Once everyone and all our bags were packed up into the mini tour bus, we left Athens for Corinth. Our first stop was at the Corinth Canal; from the side, where the truck stop grocery store is, it doesn’t look every impressive, but as you stand right above the canal, that’s when you KNOW you’re in Greece no doubt!! It was beautiful and there were quite a few expensive tourist kiosks if you found the need to buy souvenirs. We had a half hour break there, and headed back on the bus for Ancient Corinth where we toured around the ruins with the guidance of our prof. This is where we really noticed the population of stray dogs, of course they were here and there in Athens, but in smaller towns like Corinth they’re everywhere! After that we visited the Ancient Corinth museum and headed back to the small restaurant square for lunch. I had a club sandwich which came as a 3 layer sandwich with European bacon and French fries. We fed the 4-5 stray dogs, that had followed us from the museum, our meal scraps and I think they really liked them!! They were too cute and we all wanted to take them home with us.

After lunch we went back onto the bus to travel to Agro Corinth; it was a steep and treacherous bus ride up a huge mountain, then we hiked the rest of the way up. My prof and about half our group stayed at mid-level, while the other half of us hiked all the way to the top! It was a beautiful view, and I have to give props to one of my friends who make the grave mistake of wearing flipflops for the hike. I was in runners, and still I had some trouble hiking up the steep roads and the slippery rocks! It took us about an hour and a half, but we made it up and down the 545m high trek. Once we got down, back in the bus we went as we had one more site to visit before we headed for our new hotel in Nafplio.

Our last stop was at the Ancient Epidaurus theatre and healing sanctuary. We only had an hour at the site, but it was beautiful and mesmerizing all the same. But since we had done the hike, everyone, including myself, was pooped and ready for dinner and bed. So we sped to Nafplio around 7:30pm and arrived at 8:30 to check in at the Victoria Hotel, which was about 4 blocks away from the bus depot/parking lot. We unpacked, individually taking the 2-man elevator with our monstrous bags, met for a small meeting to sort out our day tomorrow, and then we broke off for dinner. A small group of 6 of us went just down the street and ate at a restaurant which our prof had recommended. I wasn’t very hungry, and was just eager to get some free internet and get to bed ASAP, so I had an eggplant salad with bread. Their spinach pie looked home-made and fresh, so I think I’ll have to try that some time soon too! After dinner, 2 girls decided they wanted to go shopping, while the rest of us headed back from some overdue downtime. I just finished taking a shower (yes, I reapplied sunscreen all day), and just writing and checking emails, waiting for my hair to dry and before I fall into a deep sleep. Boy this day has made me tired! I think I’m getting used to Greek life, as I’m finding myself to be more tired and want more sleep. The first night I had a pretty rough time sleeping, even though I was tired, but last night I had a great night sleep and we have air conditioning in our rooms, yay!! I haven’t had any internet access, so I’ve been compiling them on my computer to mass post for days like today, so enjoy. Sorry if it’s boring, but I’ll add pictures soon!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb