Day 1


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
September 8th 2010
Published: September 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So my cellphone doesn't work here, so I bought 30mins of internet from the hotel we're staying in. Oh man, long story of getting here. I'm writing to you at 11pm my time, 1pm your time. We've just come back from having dinner all together on a rooftop terrace. it was so nice but my pictures didn't really come out well. Anyhoo, I got to Zurich and my flight was on time to leave for Athens. I sat beside this friendly 14yr old German girl on my flight to Zurich, she was nice and we had some small talk, but don't worry i slept tons! I had dinner and breakfast on that plane and they gave us this weird desert biscuit after and a bottle of water (on top of carts of juice/pop). The flight was long but I was pretty comfy. Then we got to Zurich and we had to take a tram to get to the other gates, but luckily the German girl knew where to go cuz she was coming home and took the same way when she left for Vancouver. So I waiting like 50mins till the next flight. Got a window seat without asking and sat beside this nice Greek couple. Then I got to Athens, got all my bags, then looked for people i knew; no one so i headed for the Metro. Our prof gave us pretty good instructions so I took it along this one path, then transferred to another. I hit rush hour here, but I got in and out of the trains fine. Then I followed his instructions and walked along a few streets to get to our hotel. It was pretty fun but I was super sweaty in my pants and sweatshirt. It was like 30 degrees here today and pretty humid. So I finally found the place, I checked into a room, I'm sharing with a nice girl, a little older than me. Then we met on the rooftop of our hotel before we left for dinner. We had greek food you'd get at Ramies in Vancouver on a rooftop restaurant totally open to sky and neighboors. I had moussaka and we had tons of appitizers: salad, fried cheese, fried veggies etc... Then I came back here and bought internet. It's like $2.50/30mins but it's something! My dad was worried I guess and emailed my prof :P I couldn't contact them till now so I hope everything's ok. We're heading out tmrw at 9am to do some sightseeing around here, then we're leaving for other areas and islands after that! I'll have internet for sure by Sunday or Monday.

Will add pics when I have time!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb