PLAKIAS


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Crete
June 17th 2009
Published: June 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 78


Today after Emma and Lauren had left I went on over to the travel agent to buy myself a ticket to Crete. While I was there I also managed to find out that Plykias the place I was heading too I would not be able to reach that day due to the bus times. I was then lucky enough to have the lady find me some accommodation in Heraklion where the ferry was due to dock.
While I was waiting for the bus to head down to the port I met a couple from Brazil who were looking in a Lonely Planet guide I just happened to see over the shoulder some of the accommodation they recommended in Heraklion. I then got up the courage to ask to have a look at the book and take down the places information. After this I then spent the whole trip speaking to them and when we arrived in Crete they also helped me to locate the accommodation that I was going to be staying in.

Day 79


The next day I spend most of my time travelling from Heraklion to Plyakias as I was unsure of bus timetables. I finally made it by mid afternoon. There Chris the manager of the hostel introduced me to everyone and we headed out to dinner together. In this place there are a lot of people who are regulars and tend to end up staying for extended periods of time. It is also located in the middle of the valley with quite a few day walks for you to do. By the way this hostel was perfect it was clean, cheap and offered little camping stoves for you to cook your dinner on.
Anyway back to dinner. After we ate and had a few too many drinks a few of us headed off to the local bar and because it was still only the start of the tourist season we were basically the only ones around. By this time one of the older guys had started chatting to me which was completely harmless. Anyway I decided it was time to crash and headed off only to find this guy following me because he had seen me walk out of the bar the wrong way when really all I was doing was going the long way back to the hostel as I didn’t’ know any other way. Well he took me a shortcut and after he had left me at the hostel I bumped into John another guy staying there who I had left in the bar and he said he was coming to check on me as he wasn’t fond of the other guy and thought he may have tried something on me. That was a little bit of a shock but I was definitely glad someone had come to check.

Day 80


I got up today and decided it was time to head out on a walk. Chris wouldn’t let me go on the river walk alone so I ended up convincing another Brad to come along with me. And boy was I glad he did he had to pull me up over some of the boulders in the river as there was no way I was going to manage to climb up over them by myself! Well this river walk took as over three hours and by the time we reached the town at the top of the gorge we had decided it was well past eating time! We were rewarded with a fantastic view of the landscape from our restaurant.
That afternoon we decided to head to One Rock Beach which was a walk away. We instead found ourselves crawling through tunnels and climbing mountain walls. By now we decided it was time to head back to our own beach and give up on this other one!
That night I joined in with dinner with Brad and two other girls that he was travelling with. We spent the night playing cards only to be interrupted by the familiar voice of Becky she had finally arrived. Becky and I then spent the rest of the night playing catch up.

Day 81


Today we went out to book ourselves into a trip to Samgeria Gorge this trip however seemed to be impossible in the time that I had left. So instead we decided to head back to Mykonos where Becky had just come from and spend the next few nights partying up there.
After spending the day sunny ourselves on the beach and relaxing we were out of there and off on the next part of our adventure.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.239s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb