The other experience of Greece


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Crete » Rethymno
July 3rd 2011
Published: July 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I just woke up from my afternoon siesta (I need to find a way to get Canada to adopt this) and have the time to quickly reflect on the completely different world Greece can offer.

After tear gas, rock throwing and Molotov cocktails, I am surrounded by sheer beauty. I am on the island of Crete, the largest of the Greek islands. It is fairly short with only a 45 minute bus ride from north to south tips, but it would take a few hours to drive across.

Two days ago, I arrived to my hostel in a town called Rethymno, which is located north central. I quite literally dropped my backpack off and then took off with an Aussie girl and another American guy. We rented a car and drove 3 hours south west through some of the most unbelievable switch back roads alongside a mountain. Views...amazing.

I went from an atmosphere of smoke, fire and garbage in Athens to sitting at the top of a mountain at a family run cafe overlooking the ocean, while eating lamb chops and drinking THE freshest (that a word?) orange juice. Such a quick change of pace. Nothing you can do but try to let it soak in and have the experience move you. That wasn't even the best part!

We were driving that far to reach Elafonisi beach. It's been rated the top beach in Greece, if not Europe! It was quite surreal. Two beach coves meeting with a thin strip of beach separating the two. Crystal clear, warm water in one cove, cooler water in the other. White sand and with mountains sprinkled in the background...GAH!! Traveling is awful...

Yesterday, April (the girl from Aussie) and I, rented a scooter. She has her bike license back home so I had to be the passenger, but it was still a crazy amount of fun! We scooted east to some sweet caves and explored for an hour or so - pretty sweet. We scooted some more to Bali, a beach town on the North. Lounged around, scooted back, made tacos for dinner then partied/went out with hostel peeps.

It hasn't totally sunk in, the magnitude of the varying experiences I have had on this trip, but the extreme contrast of the past few days I am glad I can write down because it has been more than welcomed!

Santorini next, who knows from there. Eventually the Cooney Croatian wedding July 16th. Bring on the experiences!

Until next time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

DinnerDinner
Dinner

Greek salad, stuffed grape leaves and Rabbit!


Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb