Matala here we come.........


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Crete » Heraklion
June 19th 2008
Published: June 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

At KnossosAt KnossosAt Knossos

Looking intelligent Ha Ha
Crete is a really nice place. I would recommend it to anyone. There are places like Malia which is full of English kids (showing my age now😊) getting pissed everynite but there are so many really nice towns and sights to visit which more that make up for the Malia's. The Greek people are so kind and generous its made the start of our adventures a pleasure😊

The weather here is now a constant 35oC. I went snorkelling yesterday (saw loads on green/yellow fish and crabs etc) for about an hour. My back is now bright red! I was talking to the owner of the local taverna about it and when we left, after our usual on the house shot of Raki and choc cake, he gave me a tub of natural yoghurt to smother on my back. He said it was his mothers secret so not to tell anyone (you've been warned :-) ). I did what he said and left it for an hour or so and my back feels so much better today. Genius! That really sums up the Greek people- kind and generous!

We are catching the bus to Matala tomorrow. Its a 2 hour trip and the scenery on the way is unbelievable so looking forward to it. We are staying in an apartment for 10 days and then camping just off the beach for the final 3 days then back to Heraklion to get the ferry to the island of Paros (Santorini looks to crowded and the accom is very expensive)

Ive got the biggest mozzie bite right next to my mouth. When i smile, the right hand side of my face is all crooked 😱. It looks like ive had a stroke. Only another 2 weeks of it until it goes down (thats how long the bites on my legs have taken to go down!)

Matala is a very small town with not much todo so we're just gonna chill out. The snorkelling there is supposed to be amazing so looking forward to that (Ive got waterproof sun lotion now)

All the best to everyone. Hope your all well and not to green with envy😊

speak soon

Chris and Connie




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb