All Change: Kastelli to Chania


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Crete » Chania
September 18th 2012
Published: September 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Kastelli: SunriseKastelli: SunriseKastelli: Sunrise

Whilst beautiful, this really was the calm before the storm
It had rained for most of the night. Not that depressing pitter-patter of rain drops, but a good, hard downpour. By 04h00, all was quiet, save for the trickle of water draining from the streets and by 08h00, there was a beautiful sunrise. Tall orange clouds filled the early morning air. Beautiful but not what I was hoping for.

I went downstairs for breakfast. This morning's meal would be indoors as the chairs and tables were sodden. The air felt cooler as the first drops of rain began. Just a little. Then more. Before long, it was as though the taps had been turned on. Water fell from the sky at a great rate of knots. Then stopped. Suddenly.

There was no walking today. Today I was moving from Kastelli to Chania. Everything would be different, the food, the people and, more importantly, the walking.

The bus was a little early this morning but, being in Crete, time itself is ambiguous. Bags were loaded into the luggage compartment and, in the cool air, I settled in to my journey.

As we moved East, the sky cleared and the temperature rose. No fluffy clouds were to be seen
Kastelli: SunriseKastelli: SunriseKastelli: Sunrise

Such a pleasant view to have from my balcony
when we arrived in Chania. Stepping down from the bus, the air felt humid and the difference in temperature was obvious.

Being midday, I left my bags in the hotel's reception and headed into the Old Town for lunch. It was nice to be back in such a pretty place, amongst people I knew. Indeed, I was offered lunch at a number of tavernas but, not wanting to offend anyone, I declined all invitations.

Afterwards, I reacquainted myself with the town, spending some time in the Market, even though most of its produce had been sold.

Hot, I returned to the hotel and checked in. Then chilled.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb