Driving


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Central Macedonia » Thessaloniki
March 10th 2007
Published: March 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Temple of ZeusTemple of ZeusTemple of Zeus

Well, since I haven't yet posted a picture of myself I thought some might appreciate this picture. It was taken in the ancient city of Olympia once the home of the olympic games.
One questionable component of Greek life and culture I will never be reconciled to is their understanding of driving, or lack thereof. Although, better than what I have encountered in Indonesia, the traffic here is pell-mell compared to American standards. One would think there was no state of stable cruising, just alternating attempts of acceleration and screeching stops. In one recent experience of mine I was not exactly frightened, just a little concerned that I was not wearing a seatbelt (no one seems to think them necessary). I was somewhat consoled though as with four in the backseat if not buckled at least we were too squished for jostling about. What really began to concern me was the actions of the driver. I had trained my eyes on her, desperately trying not to look at the road, only to see her cross herself seemingly every five minutes. Now, I am not familiar with Greek Orthodox or the ritual of crossing, but it seemed logical enough for me if they were meant to be pleas to God for safety. However this really did begin to worry me for if the driver felt the need to so many times cross herself than the situation must be dire indeed (it did seem rather desperate at times). Surviving the ordeal, I had the impression that we miraculously escaped death many times (perhaps because she had to take one hand off the wheel every time she crossed herself and consequently swerved into the next lane and oncoming traffic). As it turned out, I was wrong in my surmise. The truth was that every time we passed an Orthodox church she was required to make the sign of the cross. However, I still like to think that God did indeed intervene during that drive. Once again, I don’t believe I will ever grow accustomed to this aspect of Greek life. So for now I will stick to two legs, although that too has its hazards (especially when crossing six lanes of traffic).



Advertisement



31st March 2007

How true... :-)
I used to lose my temper seeing UNBELIEVABLE scenes in Thessaloniki's streets myself, until I visited India for a month. After coming back to Greece, I consoled myself remembering how indescribably worse the situation is in India (not a real reason to feel better, I know, but...).

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb