Cruise Day - Greek Islands and Turkey


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Piraeus
June 15th 2012
Published: June 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

My cabin, Louis OlympiaMy cabin, Louis OlympiaMy cabin, Louis Olympia

2188 inside cabin.
Friday 15 June, 2012

Cruise Day



What a fabulous breakfast this hotel supplied. The best so far on my journey; eggs, bacon, mushrooms, sausages, fresh fruit, cereal, toast, coffee etc., along with a what must be a usual Greek breakfast; olives, tomato, cheese. The hotel supplied me with a free transfer to the ship. They drove right up to the check-in desk… what service!



All aboard

The ship is quite small compared to some others in port. The port of Pireaus is an unbelievably busy port and tourism in Greece must be a very big industry. When I booked, I chose the lowest fare which placed me in an inside cabin on level 2 - the first deck under the water line. I unpacked straight away and went off to explore the ship. I have included some photos. On my return to cabin 2188 there was a note under my door inviting me for €90 (entire 3 nights) to upgrade as there were a few outside cabins available on upper levels. I thought I might as well take a look as I hadn’t seen an outside cabin yet. They showed me three cabins with windows and they were just the same as mine except with a window. To be honest, I couldn’t be bothered packing up and moving again and decided I would save some money there and use it for a massage!



The dining rooms, lounges, bare and pool areas are pretty nice and I decided it was a good choice for a little three-night Greek Island cruise sampler. I ate lunch in the main dining room and today it was a buffet, I was told that it would be a-la-carte on other days. I didn’t feel much like eating, but the buffet had a good array of the usual cold cuts, salads, soups, hot carvery and some Greek choices including sweets.



That evening the ship arrived at Mykonos. We would only be in port for a few hours before moving on to the next port. Tender boats were used for going ashore. As it is cheaper for beauty therapy services on board ship when the ship is in port, I opted not to go ashore and had my massage instead… by a young woman with very small hands. I actually wanted a therapeutic massage, but with language barriers ended up with a gentle Swedish massage. Not to worry… though my legs and feet could have done with a better workout, I did feel more relaxed. After the massage I just didn’t feel like taking a shower and rushing ashore and besides, people arriving back from shore excursions said there were better islands to come. So I just took pictures from the deck of the ship and looked forward to the next port of call.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb