Last day in Athens


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
October 13th 2015
Published: October 13th 2015
Edit Blog Post

So now it is the last days of this trip. I am sitting on the balcony of our small but cute little apartment in Athens, enjoying a cup of tea.
Our week in the Greek Islands was fun and relaxing. Each island seems to have its own character and pace.
However, the ferry trip back to Athens was not as pleasant as I expected: too many people smoke and there is no non-smoking section. I suppose it was a good preparation for our days in Athens: the air here is quite polluted.
Over the last two days we visited the main sites of the city, like the Acropolis, the agora, etc. I am glad I have seen it, however, I did not fall in love with Athens. I don't know why I always enjoyed a place like Delhi, and yet, I find Athens noisy, polluted and overcrowded. But there is some nice cafes, interesting museums, and it's also quite a privilege to spend time where some of the great thinkers and philosophers lived a long time ago. The place is charged with history.
So this is it for this adventure. The next one should start very soon... It should be an interesting one. Stay tuned!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

loukoumadesloukoumades
loukoumades

One of the rare greek dessert that I didn't like: some kind of greasy timbit soaked in honey and cinnamon. Sounded promising... but was disappointing!


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb