Ferries, Athens and Mykonos...


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
July 5th 2011
Published: July 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So very very quick update because people are waiting for the free computers....

1. overnight ferries are pretty nice, rocks you to sleep sort of - what isn't nice is the fact that they let a number of very creepy looking people camp out in corridors and on stairs if they don't have rooms so you are constantly walking around over people!

2. Athens is a bit depressing and you can really see the poverty that is starting to take over - on the up side the acropolis and the parthenon are beautiful and the view from up there is amazing! Also, riots happened the day before we arrived so city relatively quiet which was nice! Heading into the Plaka tonight for dinner so we'll see how it goes!

3. Mykonos is exactly how I pictured greece - white buildings, narrow roads, getting lost, eating fresh seafood (I managed to eat a whole lobster - even got introduced to him before I ate him it was that fresh!). It wasn't too hot so we spent our time in the beach, at the pool, drinking a few cocktails and Katrina, Alix and me even took quad bikes around the island for a day - so much fun!!! I drove and alix was on the back of mine - trina had to teach me how to use it but I got the hang of it in the end! Still couldn't keep up with her though! She's crazy! Loved the islands pretty much and will have fun stories to tell when I get back. Also made a rather large dent in my funds but well worth it!

Heading off to Meteora tomorrow so very excited - google it and you'll see why!

Love to mum and dad and missing everyone - more when I actually have some time to go into details about everything and by then hopefully there'll be some whacky eastern european tales to tell!!!!

xoxoxoxoxoxoxox

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb