The Parthenon


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
June 23rd 2011
Published: June 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

MeMeMe

Erin, is this the spot?
Finally, the day was here. To see the Parthenon up close was a big reason for me for wanting to apply for this scholarship. The Acropolis didn’t disappoint. Please do not be disappointed in me if I let my pictures do the talking tonight.

Before I end though, I had the unique opportunity to visit with a friend from Alexander County. In fact, I’ve taught her children and she is here in Athens with her oldest son doing missionary work. I had the address they were staying at, so after a subway ride and a short taxi ride, I was able to surprise them with a short visit. It is a small world.



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

First view of the ParthenonFirst view of the Parthenon
First view of the Parthenon

Constructed during 447 - 438 B.C.
The ErechtheionThe Erechtheion
The Erechtheion

Constructed during 421 - 406 B.C.
ViewView
View

This is the view I had at lunch.


Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0839s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb