Palamidi Fortress and Athens


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
June 22nd 2011
Published: June 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Palamidi FortressPalamidi FortressPalamidi Fortress

Built between 1711 - 1714. Best preserved castle of its kind in Greece.
If you were to look up at a mountain and see a castle just sitting there waiting to be explored, would you climb 1,000 steps to do it? Well, that’s what I did this morning before our group left for Athens. After a short taxi ride to town, there were only a bunch of steps between me and the castle. Once I made my way to the door and paid my admission, I basically had the entire castle to myself. This castle was built between 1711 – 1714 and it is the best preserved castle of its kind in Greece. Please check out my pictures because there is so much to see.

After a long bus ride to downtown Athens, we had the afternoon to roam the city or relax. I stayed very close to the hotel, did a little laundry, and relaxed. Although I enjoy keeping everyone up to date with writing this blog, it is very time consuming and I miss out on a full night of sleep. However, I am in no way complaining, just explaining why I needed to relax. For those of you who know me best, you know I’m not one to just hang out when there are other places to explore.

This evening we received a special invitation to attend the Fulbright Annual Award Ceremony at the Deputy Chief of Mission, United States Embassy in Athens’ house. This was a wonderful celebration of our experience in Greece as a Fulbright-Hays participant.



Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The First StepsThe First Steps
The First Steps

Yes....there were 1,000 steps before reaching the top.
Door ClosedDoor Closed
Door Closed

I got to the door before it opened at 8:00.
StepsSteps
Steps

Do I really have to climb down those steps?
Dimitrious and IDimitrious and I
Dimitrious and I

Dimitrious was our Fulbright tour guide.


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb