Athens, Greece


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
June 12th 2010
Published: July 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It has finally arrived...Summer trip 2010 and this was to be another big one. Greece, Egypt, South Africa, Swaziland and Lesotho. The main reason was to attend the World Cup in South Africa, the biggest sporting event in the world!!! We had tickets to 5 matches! Daddy prepared me months prior with outfits for the games including temporary tatoos and I got really into the 2 big world cup songs....Waka Waka and Waving Flag. Daddy got me so excited about South Africa, that I wanted to go straight there, but that was not the plan. We were going to stop first in Athens for a couple nights and then Cairo on the way to South Africa. Daddy had been to South Africa twice before during medical school and residency to do some medicine, but this was my first time.

So, On June 12 shortly after my school year ended we took off. It just so happened that we left on a day that was a huge World Cup match for the USA.....vs England, so we got dressed up for the airport. We were the only ones, but we did not care. My mommy and brother dropped us off at the
Posing in PlakaPosing in PlakaPosing in Plaka

right outside our hostel
airport. I knew I was going to miss them a lot on the trip, and brought a doll that had a space for their pictures which was made by one of my teachers.

We watched the game at the airport, and daddy was very happy that USA tied England, after a "lucky" goal. A few minutes later we boarded our flight to London, so I dont think many on the plane were too happy.

After a brief layover in London, we arrived in Athens and took a taxi to our hostel, Student and Travellers' Inn. The driver rear ended another car at the toll booth, while going very slowly. Not a great start to the trip, but I did not even realize it and continued playing my hand held video game while strapped in my booster seat that daddy brought from home.

This was daddy's first time in Greece as well, so he was very happy to be here. The hostel was in a great location on a street in Plaka where cars were not allowed. It was really neat and we ate at a cute restaurant outside next door to our hostel. I wanted a
wow, pretty coolwow, pretty coolwow, pretty cool

daddy says it was built even before he was born
rose and daddy bought one for me...I was really happy. It stayed light really late too.

The next day we walked to the parthenon....The weather was really hot, but the walk was really "cool". There were sooo many cats! The buildings were very old and daddy explained that they were even older than him and my grandparents. My favorite was the building with the women columns (Caryatids of Erechtheion) which was the same as the one on the front of the "Lonely Planet" travel book that daddy brought. We went to other places with awesome bulidings as well such as the Roman Agora, the Ancient Agora, and the Temple of Olympian Zeus. Daddy bought me a bracelet (which I later broke as usual).

We went back to the hostel to watch Italy play Paraguay. Since I was born in Italy, I was rooting for them. I was too small to remember the last world cup, in which they won while I was travelling with Daddy in Argentina. They did not do too well in this game and only tied, but I had fun dressing up.

After only 2 nights, it was time to leave Greece for Egypt,
Minutes before leaving for the airportMinutes before leaving for the airportMinutes before leaving for the airport

To start our travels and watch USA v England
but we were to come back for 4 nights after going to South Africa.


Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

PosingPosing
Posing

Acropolis
Running to DaddyRunning to Daddy
Running to Daddy

Temple of Olympian Zeus
Where is Sofia???Where is Sofia???
Where is Sofia???

Stoa of Attalos, Ancient Agora
cool barcool bar
cool bar

daddy wine tasted and I watched a movie....right next to our hostel in Plaka
World Cup FeverWorld Cup Fever
World Cup Fever

the 3 teams I was supporting
Me and DaddyMe and Daddy
Me and Daddy

Temple of Olympian Zeus
showing my travel picsshowing my travel pics
showing my travel pics

athens airport on the way to Cairo


10th May 2011

World cup fever!!
Yes, my daughter was very mixed up with Italy v Paraguay as she has both these countries in her blood. Her dad is half Brazilian and half Paraguayan and I am half Italian and half British (read English when talking of football!). All very tricky! I think though out of her four sides, only Paraguay did themselves justice! It's lovely to follow your blogs and I really love how you like football just like my daughter does. And of course the fact you were born in Friuli can only make you all the more awsome (not at all biased, of course!!)

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.03s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb