Down time in Athina...


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
June 3rd 2010
Published: June 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Despite hearing reports that the weather is getting pretty chilly back home in Australia, Athens has turned on the balmy weather for the last five days, reaching around thirty-four degrees each day. The night after Ed’s departure, it was deathly hot. Katie, who I’m staying with here, had to basically sleep out on her verandah to keep cool. I have since become addicted to delicious Greek desserts, visiting the local bakery every day to select a new afternoon treat. Today’s delight has the name Blueberry Panna Cotta.

Katie took me to the local supermarket on our first afternoon and we stocked up on basics like milk and bread, fruit and snacks. We’ve eaten in almost every night, taking solace in a break from all the rich foreign food. After a day of relaxing, us girls headed to see Sex and the City 2 on my second day back in Athens. It definitely inspired me to do a bit of shopping as well as got me very excited for Turkey, Israel and the deserts of Egypt! Each day since I have had a sleep-in and Skyped family, followed by a leisurely lunch out and- you guessed it, shopping. I have bought a couple of pairs of shoes and few beautiful tops. The quality here is fantastic, with most basic items being made in Portugal, Spain or Morocco. Everything is reasonably priced as well, but of course, is very summery. It will be a few months before I get a chance to wear it again so it’s lucky the trends are ahead of Australia.

I have had a chance to get off the beaten track and have some genuine Athenian experiences. Last night Katie and I went out to her local taverna for authentic Greek food (chicken wrapped in bacon is very popular here) and had a cocktail and dessert in the popular Gazi district. There are a lot of ‘nightclubs’ here which in my opinion, just look like really busy and really loud restaurants. I was still on a sugar high from dessert so we didn’t go in, but I did get the general idea from the outside.

This afternoon I’m heading off to meet my cruise tour group at a hotel here in Athens. We are staying here the night before driving down to the main port of Piraeus to head off on the high seas. Unfortunately there is a public transport strike here in Athens today so I will have to take a taxi. Katie’s friend told me last night that there is one of these strikes almost every week, and that her employer pays for her taxi fares during strike days. So bizarre! I must be off, it’s almost peak hour here and taxis will vanish into thin air. Cruising to Istanbul tomorrow! Hello Turkish food 😊

Much love to all xx

Advertisement



6th June 2010

Hi there
Hi there ALyse, I am sitting here in front of the fire reading your blog. It sounds like you are having a wonderful time. I can only imagine all the sights you are enjoying. I hope you are keeping well - sounds like are you are by the description of the food you have been indulging in. How very exciting for you experiencing the different life styles. I would love to do a quilt shop visit one day. Probably in the US. I would go with empty bags and bring home all the latest ranges of fabrics. Oh to dream!! ALyse, you are doing a wonderful job with your blogging. Keep up the good work!! Can't wait to see all your photos. Christmas in July is only around the corner. We may be able to sit in front of the fire looking at your photos and hearing about your trip. Take care Alyse - looking forward to seeing you Much Love Karen xoxoxoxox
7th June 2010

thank-you!
Thanks Karen! Yes I am having a great time- thank-you for saying I'm doing a great job, I really do love my writing and these places make it so easy for the words to flow! I wanted to write about Turkey but this computer on the ship won't allow me to access my USB where I have written the blog. Oh well, will wait til I return to Athens on the 11th. Time will fly this year so I will definitely be seeing you soon xx Glad to hear all is well back home with you guys, much love Alyse

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb