Day 47 - Greek Independence Day: An American Experience


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
March 25th 2009
Published: March 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Greek flagGreek flagGreek flag

I bought one of these to wave around as the tanks barraged through in the parade...
I didn't know exactly what today would bring -- the only thing I did know was that I was going to exploit the hell outta my 3-euro 24-hr subway pass.

Athens reminded me exactly why I love the subway system.

After spending over 6 weeks in the Balkans, coexisting primarily with people who've never been able to leave the country (let alone the Balkan region), I've forgotten what it's like to blend in in a foreign setting. Even though Asians are unusual to come by in Greece, at least there are always those ubiquitous Japanese tourists to help the Greeks acclimate to the Asian presence, haha!

Today was Greek Independence Day, and I just happened to be in the capital of Greece, of all places! And I happened to wander into Syntagma Square (where the National Parliament building is) as the parade was beginning! Talk about good timing :D. I bought a Greek flag to wave around to unleash my inner dork...I think I managed to blend in with the hundreds of little Greek children waving the same flags...ah, to be young again! :DDD

Since me mam is meeting up with me in a couple of days,
subway artsubway artsubway art

of course, the Greeks would have such a 'cultured' motif for their metro decor...
I figured that exploring the town and the sites would bring up to speed on how and where to find the hot spots we definitely wanted to hit: the Acropolis, Karameikos, the new Olympic Stadium, Monastiraki, the Plaka, Syntagma Square, Port Piraeus, etc.

AND, I saw TWO Chinese women today at Karameikos. I only managed to catch a couple of Mandarin phrases as I passed by, and I almost freaked out!!! hahaha, I think they saw me and were whispering to one another about where I could possibly come from. So weird hearing Mandarin again after so long (7 weeks :P). lol.

Needless to say, I was exhausted by the day's end, even though I traveled half the subway raileage instead of good ole old-fashioned walking. I think I walked my legs off yesterday in my almost fruitless search for the bus station. I do believe that my feet are half a verb away from declaring mutiny and are, as we speak, conspiring with one another to secede from the rest of my body...




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

metro ticket kioskmetro ticket kiosk
metro ticket kiosk

where I bought my first subway ticket!
Theatre of DionysusTheatre of Dionysus
Theatre of Dionysus

outside the structure at the foot of the Acropolis, dedicated to the Greek God of Wine...
Syntagma SquareSyntagma Square
Syntagma Square

the square just beneath the National Parliament Building in Athens...
Hotel Electra!Hotel Electra!
Hotel Electra!

where I did NOT stay, lol. way out of my budget range, let's just say...
MonastirakiMonastiraki
Monastiraki

the flea market, at its finest
flea marketflea market
flea market

the shopping mecca for anyone who doesn't have the money to shop at regular stores like normal people...
monastiraki performancemonastiraki performance
monastiraki performance

some Native American musical performance at the main square!
outside the Olympic stadium!outside the Olympic stadium!
outside the Olympic stadium!

where the 2004 Olympic Games were held in Athens!
Port PiraeusPort Piraeus
Port Piraeus

the port where you get ferried off to any Greek island of your choice...
FOOT bridge in PiraeusFOOT bridge in Piraeus
FOOT bridge in Piraeus

someone should be happy that this is labeled correctly, *AHEM* :P


Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb