Tues September 16


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
September 16th 2008
Published: September 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday Sept. 16, 2008

A little sad to have to return to the reality of school after an amazing weekend on Santorini. Yesterday did some more exploring and found tofu and soy milk! Which I know probably isn’t too exciting for most of you, but I was pretty happy haha.

Found out that Michigan lost to Notre Dame on Saturday…I know there are a few Cianbro folks who won’t let me live that down for a while to come. But hey, I’m abroad, so I am temporarily disassociating myself with Michigan football, especially if they continue to be so lame.

My archaeology class met on the Acropolis this morning, which was pretty cool. Our professor gave us a tour of the Mycenaean/Bronze Age aspects of the area. While I did already have some knowledge of these remains, it was a little weird walking around the Acropolis and going on top of it without any real focus on the far more obvious Classical constructions. The whole place was, of course, crawling with tourists, which I feel significantly detracts from the experience; it just feels so commercial and I almost get offended by those who don’t seem to hold the same appreciation for the monuments - namely the monotonous tour guides who you can tell have given the same speech over and over again to a bunch of clueless foreigners.

Anyways…Kylene, Leslie and Fabi are going to a travel agent this afternoon to start looking into our fall break trip. We’re all still really hoping on getting to Egypt somehow. We looked into cruises but sadly none of the itineraries really match up with the dates of our break and those that do are incredibly pricey. Also looked into Athenian soccer team tickets. At over 145.00 Euros a piece, I doubt that we will be getting to a game anytime soon…

At the gym this afternoon I think I may have started my transition from being an “outsider” to an “insider,” at least among the small community there. The owner, Kostas, began to critique my form while lifting and gave me some pointers as I was on my way out - which he seems to do with all his “parea” that frequent the gym. I’m hoping he’ll warm up to the idea of me using him to practice my Greek haha. I know it sounds like a rather insignificant happening and I’m a bit of a dork for making a big deal of it, but I’m looking forward to the potentials of becoming a member of at least some small Greek community while here.

Not a lot really planned for the rest of this week. First Greek exam on Thursday. Hoping to get to the farmers markets on Friday for some fresh fruits and veggies and may go see the Wall-E again when it comes out here on Thursday. Have my first paper due next Tuesday, so should probably get working on that soon as well.


Advertisement



17th September 2008

good trip
Tep glad you enjoyed the Island. hope you get to Egypt Love Dad and Mary

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb