My Greek Holiday!!!


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
May 13th 2007
Published: May 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Greece!! Kelly and I are having a blast !! We left America on Saturday May 12 at 1845. I was so nervous I thought I was going to vomick. I hugged Thad (Kelly's boyfriend) good bye longer than she did... and I've only met him twice....

Of course the flight was delayed in SF, but only by 15mins, we could totally handle that. Not to mention we were a little tipsy from the Padron (taquilla) shots we did at the airport bar... When we landed in Heathrow, we had to sit on the tarmac for an hour because "the tractor that pushes the plane away from our gate broke down" and we needed to wait for another one to get the other plane out of our friggen gate. The 10 hr flight wasn't so bad. I was so excited because the flight attendant gave us free wine!!! I did't feel so special when I realized (on the next flight) that everyone got free wine with their dinner..... We also got free headsets, our own tv's, eye masks, toothbrushes and socks!!! I love British Airways!! The flight attendants are all super nice and all have english accents.

When we finally got off the plane we were stoked to get our first stamp in our passports!!! Headed to the underground (english version of BART) - only to find that the airport station was closed for maintenence and we needed to get on a free bus to the next station... whatever..

The underground was just like BART, but cleaner. Some nice underground worker told us to check out Piccadilly Circus and so we got on that train... and for the next 30 min we heard "this is a Piccadilly train to COCKFOSTERS" and the lady on the loud speaker kept saying "mind the gap" whatever that means... it was funny the first 20 times..

London was rainy and overcast, just like how I imagined it would be. Piccadilly Square remined me of Times Square, NY with its big LCD billboards everywhere. We had lunch at "The Crooked Surgeon" a pub in Piccadilly Square and watched Manchester beat West Ham. We had the traditional fish and chips and chicken pot pie.

Our flight from Heathrow to Athens was delayed 1 hour. Not surprising... Passed out the whole way mout open eryting (thats pigeon for I was sleeping with my mouth open and everything).

3.5 hrs later we landed in Greece. Got a cab to our hostel "Hotel Fivos" in Monastiraki. Aka the ghetto. I was scared. There was a tin roof over the door to our room, the lighting was bad, the air con didnt work, I could barely fit in our bathroom (with no shower curtain to boot) and the bed squeaked (sp??). Our view was of an abandoned building - nice.








Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

hotel fivos hotel fivos
hotel fivos

aka ghetto


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb