Hospitals and Stadiums


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
January 22nd 2007
Published: January 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

So, I'm here in Pangrati, a lovely, grimy little neighborhood in Athens. That's where everyone in the Arcadia Program and I live.

I've been up since 6:45. Surprisingly, I slept pretty much the whole night through, even though I'm pretty jet-lagged. Right now, the jet-lag isn't feeling so bad, but when I wake up at 4 AM tomorrow and have trouble falling asleep, then I'll be unhappy.

I had to go to Agia Eleni hospital today for a routine chest X-ray in order to apply for my residence permit. It was a long hassle, tons of paperwork and red tape. I guess that having tons of inefficient paperwork is part of the way Greeks do things for whatever reason, or at least that's what I hear, and all my experiences so far have proven that to be true.

We took the bus there. One of the funniest things about the bus is that if you want it to stop, you have to hail it, like you would a taxi. Also, you just get on and no one checks to see if you have a bus pass. Well, it's rare that anyone will check to see if you have a bus pass. But if you're caught without one, it'll cost you 30 euro, which sucks. So, I'll just make sure I have my half-euro bus passes validated.

I also got to see the Olympic stadium today. It's very close to the program center and within walking distance from my apartment. It's beautiful! And so old, too. The city is absolutely lovely in the day. One of my favorite things so far are the orange trees lining the streets, full of big, ripe oranges waiting to be picked. We have some in our flat now and they're quite tasty!

Advertisement



22nd January 2007

Did I mention that I am extremely jealous?? I'm glad you made it safely, and I am sure Athens is absolutely wonderful. I can't wait to hear more about it. It snowed here the day after you left. It was really beautiful when I woke up, and I meant to take a picture to send to you since you missed it, but then by the time I actually remembered to get my camera the snow had melted. Maybe next time. Good luck with the jet-lag!
23rd January 2007

oh man you live in a flat
You're a real world traveler now.
24th January 2007

Hi Anthony: Hope things are going well, give us a call when you can. Love Dad
24th January 2007

CXR
I'm guessing the Greeks want to know if you have TB when you get to Greece. That way they can tell later if they gave it to you, or you had it all along. :-) Have fun, Enjoy every minute. and if possible. get some melatonin at a farmacia or whatever they are called there. Take one a few hours before bed, it will help you sleep better and relieve jet lag.

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.036s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb