Day 14 in Europe: Munich, Germany


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
December 26th 2012
Published: December 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

In the Cells of Dakau,In the Cells of Dakau,In the Cells of Dakau,

I had the most eerie feeling there.
Words and Things About Stuff, December 26th 2012.

Today is the day after yesterday, but as well the day before tomorrow. Today is the day that we visit the Nazi Consentration camp called Dakua. We find out that oue tour guode is the same girl Lisa who gave our walking tour around the city yesterday. She is pretty cool ao it was good to have her tour us again, ahe was originalky from conneticut and moved here 4 years ago to live in her Husbands hometown.

After taking a undervround train and then bus, we reach the grounds. It was an eeriee feeling walking around where hundreds of thousands of innocent people where treated like animals, and got even more eeerie once we walked inside the buildings. We learned a lot about he history on the tour, and learned a lot aboutbthe treatment of the Jews. Dakau was the model site which all other camps were modeled after, and was one of the most intense camps. It was slightly raini off and on, and the dark and light clouds made for a strange atmosphere.

We toured where the Jews had rol call, there ridicously small beds, the showers, cells, gas chambers and finally the worst placebof all at the end. The living conditions was absolutey terrible the mind games they would play on the Jews, such as makin them only acknowlege each other as numbers, give them pockets in their clothes but were't allowd to put anythinng in them, make them clean the rooms to the point if they left one smudge on a wi dow they would havevto stand at attention for hours i the cold winter outside. Not to mention all the cruel torture they did such as lashings and e periments that would kill hundreds every day. it was absolutely terrible but itbis definetly something everyone should see in person once in their life. To actually be right where it happened was definitely a experiance.

Walking inside the cells gave me the most strangest feeling, where the temperature dropped about 10 degrees compared to everywhere else, and thebdarklyblite halways and hundreds of metal cell doors for as far as the eye could see. It almost felt like I was being watched, as I took some of the most eeriest pictures that I've ever taKen. There was so muchbto see wih so much information all over every room that itvwouod take weeks to actually see and read them all. It was a huge site and walkin from theentrance to the gas chambets was a bit of a walk. Ifbanyone could survive the torture they would endbup here. It was strange walking through them, and when I saw theovens at the end it was above me how humans could be capable of such things. The longestbthe average person would survive wasbaround 3 months, and when the Nazis were bein taken over, would walk the prisoners out and kill them all so no survivors would be alive when the camp was taken over. Definitely was not a pleasent experiance, but I'm gladw Ibcould see whatvI learned about all my life first hand.

Well, on a more Happier note, the second halfbof the dag was as far oppositte as possible to evwn out he day. I went on a Beer Challange Pub Crawl that resulted in me drinking the most I've drinken on his whole Euro Trip, but was one of he funnest nihts yet, meeting a Ton ofbreally nice people of ourbgroupbof around 20. It was prettyvcool because you can legally drink outside, so our first stop was actually outsideat some udoor Beer Stand thing! Every .beer we got our Tour Guide wouldbgive usbthw history ofbthat particular beer, and talked aboutbthe PuritybLaw where all Beer in Germany Must be made by thwbsame 3 orb4 ingrediants. The German beer herebisbsooo crisp and good! Ultimately we stoped atbabout 5 places for anywhere feom 30 minutes to an hour and a half, and it was tons of fun, thebpeople on thebtourbwere Amazing!!!

At the famous Haufbrewhaus (Howeverbyoubsaw it) one really nice girl in our group stoled one of hose Gigantic Steins in her purse and gave it to me! I was talking to mostley twobpeople from SouthbAfrica, tow Awesome guys from Awestrailia, Awesome Irishbdudes and he girl that gave me that Stein who was from Costa Rico. At the end of he niht we ended at he Host's bar next door to my Hostel and got a couplebfree Jaeger Shots and Half liters of Beer! That is around the time where mh memoriy gets erased, lol. We staertedthe Adventure at 6 pm and finished somewhere around Midnight! By thiz time at midnihtbI find myselfbin a dance club wih the South African girl, the Irish dudes and a Souh Korean who would randomly break into he Gangam Style dance periodically thelrouh the Pub Crawl, lol.

From what the pictures I toom show, I had a great time and left around 3am to head back to my Hostwl. Since I had no reccolection of going there, I had no idea wherebIbwas and how tobget back, and all Ibwas whereing was a T-Shirt, which was a bad idea! i basicallyvwas wondering thebstreets in Germany at the dead of Winter with only a T-Shirt, and a couple of Irish Dudes and a South Korean. At this point we've been walking for about 30 minutes trying to find my Histel, and the guysvIbwas witbwere really ckol to help me find it instead of leaving me. We eventually ran into a Burger Kin and had a Sweet meal. All the items were in German so I just pointed to a few burvers and stuff. We then walked out and realised I was across he street from my Hostel and said my goodbyes sto the coolest people thatb8 will never see again. There isbsomehing special about havin lon indepth conversations knoweing you'll never see hem again. Onebofbthe coolestboutcomes of traveling for me.

That
The Awesome South African Elzi!The Awesome South African Elzi!The Awesome South African Elzi!

She pulled one of my many Wristbands off and tied it on here wrist at the Club!
night I guess I somehow dropped onebof he Large Steins stolen for me off the second bunk bed I was sleeping on. I only know this because there was glass shadered everywhere in the morning and my hand was cut pretty good. The next day will result in increadiblebpaim, but itbwas a fun filled night of Awesomeness indeed in Germany!!!

here in the mornin and my hand was cut pretty good. The next day will resultbon an in


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



27th December 2012

Don't have too much Fun!!
I'm glad you're having a Great Time!! But your drinking worries me. You were lucky to be around cool people to take care of you this time, but You're not always going to be around those types of people and that's when you can be taken advantage of. Where was Alex during this time? You should be the one helping other people find their way home. Have fun, but Please try and take care of yourself. Love, Dad

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0203s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb