Day 13 in Europe: Munich, Germany


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
December 26th 2012
Published: December 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Merry Christmas! December 25th, 2012:

Wishing a Merry Christmas to all of you Awesome Dudes from Germany! This was the first over night train ride I've taken and after an 11 hour overnight ride from Amsterdam to Munich I finally arrive at 7:30AM. In case you were wondering, most of Contenental Europe is 9 hours ahead of California. After roaming around the train station we find that our Hostel is only about a 2 minute walk from the station which was pretty cool. Check in wasn't until 2pm, so we decide to walk around. After about 10 minutes of doing so, we find that almost every single buisness along the streets is closed, so we decided to go back to the Hostel, drop of our backbacks and decide to find a tour to go on.

We go on a 3 hour or so walking tour around Munich and it was pretty Awesome! Lots of Christmas trees and lights everywhere to make it feel cool on Christmas Day, and I take a bunch of Photos throught the day of with them. This is my first Christmas away from the family so it was a little sad, but seeing all the cool buildings and history help. We were hoping for snow on Christmas, but instead it was about 48 degrees and not to much colder compated to San Diego!

We first saw the Huge Glockenschpiel and saw the dudes dancing around in the Tower with the peole on horseback jousting. It rang for about 6 minutes before the play went on for about another 5 minutes. It was really slow and nothing really to write home about, even though I'm doing so here, lol. We then continued the tour and walked along the streets where Hitler first game to Power and gathered up some of his first Nazi supporters. It was kind of eerie to be in such a place, and we learned a lot about Hitlers History and the Parrade he started there, but it was very interesting to see the place in person with the epic buildings and streets. Since it was Christmas, a lot of the places we normally would go into were closed, but it was a cool experiance non the less.



After seeing a bunch of the German History, we met up with a couple of guys Matt and Dave from Ontario Canada who were reallz cool, and we go to the famous HofbrÀuhaus which is pretty much the center of drinking out of Large Steins and is right where the action is during Octoberfest. I get a large Stein of their Original and a huge plate of their Bockwurst for a Christmas Lunch. Both the Beer and Food were really good, and those Steins to hold the Beer were Huge!

We then make our way to one of the Tallest, if not the Tallest bell toweres in Munich were we were allowed to climb the million-stairs up to the top of it for only 1 Euro! After going up the extemely narrow stairs, we get to the top, and the 360 view was simpely Amaying!!! It was redicously clear, with absolutely no clouds anywhere so it was the perfect day to go. We could see all the way to the Swiss Alps and every building through all of Munich! It was Amazing! I could see that a lot of people get proposed to there because they write their names on pad locks, and then lock them to the gated fence up there. As I would then walk back down, I would look at all the young couples and wonder if they were about to do the same! I took a lot of sweet pictures up there and wrote my name on one of the wooden support beams by the entrance to the top.

After that everyone took a 2 or 3 hour nap and shower break while I stayed up to finish my Christmas Eve Entry. For almost this entire trip but one or two days, what I would do is wake up at about 7:30 everyday, write a blog about the previous day and finish in time for Breakfast at the hostel while everyone is still asleep. Believe it or not I've been the Early Bird getting stuff done early this entire trip! Lol. But because of that, I have to take an Old-Man Break sometime between 6 and 8pm and Powernap to stay awake until the early hours to then do it again. Surprisingy I've gotten pretty used to this schedule and it will prepare me to do the same when I get back to finish writting mz Thesis!

I then get my Skpe to finally work at about 6:30pm and talked to my Mom, Dad, Brother, Sister and my Aunt Liz and the kids, it was Awesome! For them it was 9:30AM and were opening Presents from Santa! It was really Awesome being able to see and talk to them on Christmas, and everyone looks really good and can't wait to see them when I get back from my Adventure!

After the Skype is where my Nightime Adventure starts, where we walk all over town at night to find a good place for Shnizle, (or however you spell that!) Lol. We find it to be closed, but keep on walking to find a Christmas Market and have some of the best German stuff ever for my Christmas Dinner! It was this Amazing soup and bread that started with a G and was about 15 letters long, and it was the best soup I ever had! I then drank it with he absolute greatest Wine I've ever had called something like Punche where it was a warmed type of German Wine wih bits of fruit that you poke at with a wooden stick, which was super Awesome for a kind of cold night! We then walk around and take some more pictures around Christmas trees and finish the niht at Matt and Daves Hostel's bar, were we drink Awesomely local brewed German Beer! In Germany they have a Purity Law where they can onky Brew Beer using only cerain ingrediants, so all German beer is Amazing!!! The half liter glass we drank out of was pretty cool, so I was anle to successfully add to my stolen Europe Glass collecton almost one from every country now!

Tomorrow we will be goin to a tourbof one of the Concentration camps here in Munich, startsvwith a D or something, and our last full day were were thinkin of renting a car with

Advertisement



26th December 2012
Merry Christmas Mom and Dad!

Merry Christmas to you too!!
Merry Christmas to you too Chris!! You skyped us at perfect time yesterday. It was feeling a little weird and sad around the house before you called because it was the first time in 26 years you weren't there and it just didn't seem right. It was Great to be able see you and talk to you while we were opening presents, it made the whole day perfect. It looks like you are having an Awesome time. Continue to do so and stay warm and safe. I Love You and Merry Christmas!!!

Tot: 0.391s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb