Oops....the Polish border


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
June 11th 2006
Published: June 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

BudapestBudapestBudapest

budapest by night
I arrived in Gorlitz yesterday after about 7.5 hours on trains. I knew already that my hotel/pension didn't have room on the 10th, so booked myself into a renovated 1920s hotel which was quite nice.....and a bit pricy....for one night. I had a cab drop off the big heavy suitcase at the hotel/pension cause I sure didn't want to drag it around town on Sunday.

After a 3 star breakfast, I walked back to the pension and dropped off the backpack and puter then set off exploring.....cause I could not check in til 2 PM. First place to visit was a garden where they replicated a some of the holy sites from Jerusalem....in a smaller scale. I'd say a bit underwhelming. Walking thru an area that badly needs to be restored, then thru a couple beautiful gardens, I found myself hearing organ music so I walked into the Sts Peter and Paul church during a service. This city is full of ancient churches!!!! Anyway, the music was great for a few minutes to rest!!! Walking around the corner and down a hill, I crossed a bridge of about 300ft and....woah.....it was the Polish border!!! I'll have to check out Poland later because I didn't have my passport.

Gorlitz has had some major upgrades and renovations. I've thought that some other old towns were beautifully redone, but this one beats them all. Gives new meaning to Disneylike and sanitized. I have to download some pics from the camera to this puter so you can see whatI'm talking about.

After buying my train ticket from Berlin/Schonefeld Airport (for the flight to Berlin) (it is cheaper if bought 3 days in advance), I walked back to my pension, the Hotel Dreibeininger Hund. This place is about 400 years old and the renovations were done in a way to keep all the old charm, albeit with modern facilities. Breakfast is held in the Renaissance hall.....where you really would expect to see people in that style of dress eating with their hands. I've about had enough of walking for one day.

Don't be getting all excited about 2 postings in a row. Even tho this pension/hotel has a hot spot, I still have to pay to ubiquitous T-Mobile to use their service!!!!!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb