Germany


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
July 7th 2009
Published: July 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After a very very long and tight flight with finn air, I arrived in Frankfurt via Helsinki. I spent that and the next day finding my way around Frankfurt - great trams here! There had been an Iron Man competition in the middle of the city and the place was trashed. I met some locals who were greek and they made me the best meal - and found all these little out of the way places. I had lunch on the river and walked my feet off. Thank god for lockers at the train station. what a load off - it made it so much easier to get around sans cases. I caught (what I was told was the right train!!!!) and the ticket lady informed me that I was not on the train to Karlsrhue, but in fact was going the other way toward Berlin. So thankfully, she gave me directions to get the train back to Frankfurt and then stay on it as it was going to the right place. The great thing about making a mistake is the people you meet along the way - on the wrong leg, I met a couple that had just come back from overseas where they had celebrated their wedding. Then on the right train, I was in a compartment with a couple who were heading to Brisbane for a holiday, so we swapped emails and hints and both came away with something good! I was met at the station by Jess and Viola (from Vietnam) and we caught the train to JessĀ“s home, but were caught in a flash flood getting out of the tram. A bit of rain did not go astray. It was good to catch up with them both - Jess has a new job and is extremely busy - Viola had just finished one of her final oral exams, so we had good reason to celebrate. today, I have been from one end of Karlsrhue to the other, trammed and walked, palaces, museums etc. Leave bright and early tomorrow for England - photos to come (Oh, temperatures from 24 -30)

Advertisement



7th July 2009

Connie's on trams?
-2 degrees here!
7th July 2009

congrats on the great trip!
Hi Christine, Good to hear from you after eons! are you a permanent nomad now? You seem to be having truckloads of fun and meeting interesting folk! We spent a week in Deutschland last year..my mine were very impressed by the Munich beer tour! Hope to hear about the next instalment....Jane xxxx
8th July 2009

What an andventure
sounds fantastic what you are doing and seeing ,food yum yum, going to painting tomorrow then to Kirks for lunch everyone says Hi . Gerry wanted to know where you are in your travels, still freezing here, love Laine XXX
9th July 2009

Hi christine
looking forward to read about your adventures. Have a wonderful, wonderful time! Cheers, Magda and clan downunder

Tot: 0.663s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0742s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb