Espresso anyone?


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
August 4th 2008
Published: August 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The day went by very slow, but i wouldn' t have had it any other way. After breakfast this morning we got on the charter bus and headed for the Smithsonian. We started out in a group of ten kids or more. The botanical gardens was the first building we visited. I enjoyed most of everthing that I saw, but the botanical gardens took my breath away. It has been only recently that I discovered my intense passion for horticulture, haha. I found the seond building to be slightly less interesting. This was a modern art museum. There were only three mildly entertaining parts of this exibit. The first. Lily decided to be cute and stop in the middle of the revolving glass door. The securitz guard got totally mad at her. The second. I found a Jackson Pollock painting and two Andy Warhol paintings. I found them to be reallz quite lovely because those were the onlz two artists in the building I had heard of. The third. Lunch. There was a cafeteria in the modern art museum. (Cafeteria sounds dorky, but it was really very fancy) There was a salad bar. I had a salad with tofu. It rocked. Taylor had gotten a salad as well, but at a different place. In order for her to be charged for her salad it had to be weighed and the rate is 60 cents per ounce. Taylor had three hard boiled eggs. This made for one very mediocre $15 salad. Following this Joe, Emma, Lily and I went to the part of the cafeteria with gilato and sorbeto and espresso. I had chocolate and Emma had cherry cheese-cake. Along with our small green cups of frozen deliciousness we each ordered a shot of espresso. It truly was amazing. After lunch the group fizzled and we were now down to just Joe, Emma, Lilz and I. We visited a couple more buildings wehre we spent out time oohing and awing and being silly. Our feet ached and Joeäs knees were readz to explode, but we kept walking, If I had to guess iäd saz we walked at least three miles. The metro we rode on after the Smithsonian was the highlight of my day, thoug. I hadn't ridden on a plane before this trip and I also hand't ridden on a subway. It was reallz verz fascinating not because of complecitz, but because I was trying something new. On the metro ride home I broke my John Lennon Sunglasses. I was reallz not too happz about this. I'll buy new sunglasses and get over it. We got back to the hotel and attended a meeting in the conference room again. After that we dashed to the pool for a 45 minute swim. Chicken, Marco Polo, and Sharks & Minows (Pom Pom) wer the games we entertained ourselves with. And so ends the day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.226s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb