So now in Hülben...


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
May 23rd 2008
Published: May 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

kiss in austriakiss in austriakiss in austria

probably my favorite picture so far!
Hello everyone! I know it has been quite a while since my last entry...but we have been without computers in the past stays. The last time i wrote I was in Kelzemberg, Germany. since then we traveled to Austria and stayed in a hikers hostel outside of Blüdenz, Austria. We were right in the middle of the Alps. We sang a concert in a city hall building, which really was not as fun as in a church because of a smaller response, but it was alright. That was probably the start of mz sickness. I didnt feel so good that night and it continued to the next day. We stayed there two nights, so it was nice to get a break from host homes, except i was in a room with 16 girls, and there were snorers!! grrr. the second day while we were there we met up with a tour guide and went on a bus tour. we visited three countries in one day! Leichtenstein, Switzerland, and Austria. We made small stops but got to eat at a castle and see soem beautiful little towns. we then headed back and had a concert that night. Now onto Thursday...we did a lot of traveling through the alps that day. We climbed and climbed until we reached Schloss Mittersill. It is a beautiful castle placed right above the city of Mittersill in the tops of the Swiss Alps. There was a house right next to it that Hitler actually used to house his leaders, but once the war was over, Schloss has now become a relief hotel for visitors, but primarily pastors and church members. We all had seperate rooms with wonderous views, and it was so fun to just go around and explore the castle...the only unenjoyable part was being very sick this day. I tried to go to bed early but my sinuses were so so clogged I could not breathe.

This morning I woke up not feeling too much better and we headed down the mountains back into Germany. We visited Dachau today, which was one of the first concentration camps started by Hitler in Germany. WE then continued our venture on to Hülben. I have heard so many wonderful things before coming here...just how friendly and warm the people are and how the youth are just so embracing to us coming. We arrived here today and I intantly felt the warmth...unlike the citz of Stüttgart, which I do not believe I ever journaled on but that is another whole story I can tell later. We had drinks with them and then went to our host homes. I am staying with Lauren tonite in a beautiful house near the church. We had dinner with them and exchanged our few words of Deutch and their few of English, but they are very kind and funny. The hardest word for me to say here is probably one of easiest for me to talk about in America, this word is Wedding. Over here it is pronounced ´hochsite´much easier spelled wrong than said. (pronouced HoCH-spit in the back of your throat) tsite). lol they taught me that! We just had a youth meeting at the church where we sang and danced and met the young people and we were going to go to a disco with a bunch of people but I am still very tired and need to rest more because I was miserable this morning. I actually think it may be because of the elevation change. the air was much thinner in the alps, but I dont know. Tomorrow we are going to the city of Ülm and we are going to climb Ulma Munster, this is the largest cathedral in the world or Europe or something huge like that. I am actually kinda of home sick, but I think the trip with go back up with the great town of Hülben encouraging us once agin. I love you guys adn miss you! I actually have some pictures because I needed to erase some so I uploaded them onto their computer. Enjoy!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb