Gutentag


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
June 21st 2007
Published: June 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Good day!! We are seeming to adjust to the time here pretty well. We slept in until 830 this am (would be 230 your time) and tomorrow we will get up at 445 to catch our train to Munich.
Today we took the train to the village of Heidelberg. It was beautiful and quaint. all the streets are cobblestoned and very narrow. All of the cars here are small-even the mercedes! (Sorry, jack-no hummers!) we ate lunch at a cafe and ordered but didn't know what the heck we were ordering. I ended up with a flat pizza like thing with creme cheese, bacon, and onion on it. As i am not a huge bacon fan it was not the greatest but it "vas goot". nathan is not being very adventurous with his food. Today we passed a subway restaurant and he wanted to go there. we did not! Hopefully he will try more things as we go along. We climbed up what felt like the longest path ever to the top of a mountain and saw the castle there. it was really neat to see. We also bought some gummy bears. That is were gummy bears started and are made. We are making it around pretty good with our extremely limited german and are learning a little bit. The boys enjoyed the day-the castle was there favorite thing. It is really very beautiful here. The Germans seem to take great pride in their homes and all have some sort of flower boxes with gorgeous flowers in them. it is inspiring me to want to do that at home! Oh and we also passed through Frankenstein today. Betcha didn't know that was a place!
we will be gone for 4 days so i will not be able to blog. we are heading to Munich, germany and salzburg, austria tomorrow.

Kath- we had chocolate on our first day here--we just had to, right?!
Brian, not going to make it to Belgium. Maybe our next trip to europe.

Advertisement



22nd June 2007

Hey...I think chocolate is in order EVERY day:) Keep having fun...would you believe Jake still has school tomorrow? And you guys are on vacation #50...or something like that! Did the boys weigh themselves before the trip? They may end up losing some weight! I wouldn't mind a little European diet, myself! Be safe. XO
22nd June 2007

This is fun
Hi Marge!! I love seeing your journaling!! What an awesome adventure and opportunity!! Eat some gummy bears for us!! Guten Tacht!! Ich Leibe dich!!
22nd June 2007

Ask for a Roll Mop
Willi at the Hoffbrauhaus in New Oxford (?) has Roll Mops on the menu. If I recall correctly (and I believe I do) a roll mop is a very large pickle wrapped in creamed herring. Mmmm, roll mops. Is that drunk food or what? "Lessee, I got pickles and shum of thish fish. Oakley, dokley." Not exactly what i think of as traditional German fare, but what do I know? Ask around, and if they have roll mops, I can highly recommend them. But not until you've had six or seven of those enormous Oktoberfest steins of 9% alcohol double bocks. Cheers! Mark
24th June 2007

Hi!
The website you gave me works!! Ha! Sounds like a great time so far! We are so glad that the 3 of you are getting this experience! So, after this trip, do you think you'll want Hershey chocolate again?? Can't wait to see pictures and hear more about what you're doing! Maggie, can't wait to see pictures of the flowers... I try to get creative, sometimes it works, this year the pots I have are not doing as well! Well, on our vacation, we went to The Schlitterbahn (a cool water park).... even though the name is German and it was fun, it may be as close as we'll ever get to the real deal. Hope all is well, we're thinking of you all and wishing you a good, safe trip! Take care, Sue and family
25th June 2007

Sounds great!
Hi Guys! We are so excited to read your blog--I think this is our first blog ever! The trip sounds really cool. Nathan-- I feel for you. When Tim and I went to Paris--all I ate were pomme frittes (french fries)! I hated the food. If I am doing this right, we dont see any pictures. We would love to see some either on line or when you get back. Kane wants me to write that he loves you and Samantha just giggles. Have a great trip and we cant wait for the next blog! Cant wait until you get back! Love, TASK

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb