Day 4: Kollmar - Büsum


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Schleswig-Holstein
June 6th 2008
Published: June 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 4: Kollmar - Büsum, 93,41km, cycling time 5:11, average 17,97 km/h, total: 386 km

In the morning after waking up I prepare the blog entries for the last two days (for my german blog). I get on the road at half past ten. Yesterday I was told there was a camping store in Itzehoe, and maybe one in Glückstadt. Itzehoe is a bit off my route, but I have to ride through Glückstadt anyways, Here I get something for breakfast, then I spend 30 minutes looking for the camping store without finding anything, A google search (nice to have a mobile phone with internet connection) I find nothing for Glückstadt, but on entry for Brunsbüttel, the next larger town on the route,

In an industrial area in the outskirts of Brunsbüttel I quickly find the address, thanks to google and my GPSr. However, the store only rents out lager tents for festivities. Easy to see how google made the connection to camping, but that doesn't help me,

Back in Brunsbüttel I try to find the NSCR again, After some friendly help from a local I find myself back on the road to the industrial area I just left. I bit further, and I am back on the NSCR.

The weather is sunny and hot, too hot for cycling. It is already 3 p.m., and I have only done 50 km so far today. At a nice, shade resting place I take a longer break. The solar panel is put into the sun, and I get out my EeePC and post the prepared blog entries. Then I finish the remnants of my breakfast, get out a book and wait for the hot part of the day to pass.

At about 5p.m. I am back on my bike, through nice pastures. At about half past seven I can see the north sea for the first time. Some kilometers along the dike bring me to a camping site south of büsum. Pitch the tent, take a shower, wash some clothes, and it's 10 pm.

I still don't have a new sleeping pad, but I haven gotten used to sleeping in the deflated one,


Advertisement



Tot: 0.248s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb