indeed


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Saxony » Dresden
June 1st 2006
Published: June 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

1.6.06
0040


Good Night, and Good Luck


My goal for when I have to wake up at the ungodly hour of 0500 is to wake up sweating…


2245

After this the rest is just bullshit…


My 11th grade class this morning was talking about stereotypes. It was interesting to hear what people had to say about America…most of them were true though. But then again maybe not. One kid said, “most Americans are fat.” I wouldn’t disagree with that statement. Another kid said, “Americans eat fast food all the time.” Yet again, I wouldn’t disagree with that. I’m not fat and honestly can’t remember the last time that I ate fast food…not a big fan. I am not that discriminatory about different foods but I am when it comes to quality. Hey, this body is a temple. I can’t just let any ol’ thing enter!

Anyway, things have been so busy I don’t know if I am coming or going half the time. The end of the week and weekends are usually easier. I only have one free day this week. I haven’t had a free day since the first Sunday I was here…during which I slept, and slept, attempted to do homework and fell asleep during said time. Tonight is nice. The sun was out a little bit today and I took a nap in between my early morning classes and my late night (well 19.30 class). I needed that one. Tomorrow I am getting my hair converted back to the ways of before. I am done with the growing it long thing. I look much better with short hair anyway. It will be interesting trying to communicate with the lady who does my hair…it will definently be an adventure. Sometimes I feel the most comfort when I am in a class because it is all in English, except for the little ones. But it is like I never left home. Then I get outside of the classroom and it is like, “…oh…yea.” It’s a little disorienting but not a problem.

One thing that was a little weird at first was that the Gymnasium school (Gymnasium is just a level…like a college prep school) that I go to…I get called Mrs. Wahl. Which is fine but I was like, “…no no. it’s MISS” but I guess yea ok that works cause they keep calling me that. I suppose they do not use Miss anyway. Also the ring finger is opposite so people ask me sometimes if I am married. Eh different culture different styleland.

This Friday is the start of the World Cup. I am going with my one flatmate to see a first game on the big screen somewhere. I played the new World Cup Dresden 2006 PS2 game at the Neustadt Bahnhof as they had soccer bean bag chairs and 2 tvs in the middle of the station. That and fussball tables and a thing you could try to kick soccer balls through holes of. Something like that. Fun times…much better than waiting for the next bus in the freezing cold outside…mmmhmmm.

This Sunday and Monday are free days because it is Pentacost. I am going to Berlin for those days and going to see Bombshell Rocks on Sunday weeeeeeeeeeeeee. I am excited about that one. I get lucky sometimes in the respect. Like when I was in Osaka and got to see Strong Blossom, a band from Osaka that probably will never make their way to the states unless some other band brings them here. It will probably be in a little club like the Strong Blossom show was. I am excited. I guess the area that it is in is really “hip” like Neustadt. Neustadt reminds me of Amerika-mura if you ever heard me stories about that place in JPland.

I can’t believe I am going to be here for 3 months. That’s a long time…for me anyway. A long time to be away. Keep in touch please. I don’t want to forget Americaland or fall too far behind. I’ve already changed and rearranged a lot of things just to adjust to the lifestyle here. It will be hard to go back. There are a lot of little freedoms here that make not sense why they are not freedoms in the U.S. It is a lot more laid back here too. And technology is waaaaaaaaaaayy behind in some respects. But I think in good ways. Berlin will be interesting. It is more of a big city lights kind of town from what I hear. Ugh…I’m tired. Clean up and then bed. Early night tonight. It’s only 2336 and I don’t have class until 1100. I like Fridays. They are more lax…after these crazy weeks that is just what I need. Little breaks are nice. I have more stuff to do but it can wait. And I just found out that the assignment that I rushed like a bat out of hell to get sent out on time didn’t send…AWESOME!

“Just remember that we won’t let you down!”

Oh and one more thing. I almost forgot. There are some buildings and places here that are still suffering the damages of WWII and the construction workers here are the exact opposite of that in the U.S….they actual get stuff done in a timely manner and actually work on things that NEED fixed. They work amazingly fast and deep into the night to get things done. Anyway there are a few buildings close to me that I want to photograph becacues I think they are interesting and I saw today that they started to tear one of them down…AHHH. Anyway on one of them it looks as if there are bullet holes along the one of the windows. Very interesting, this war torn city.


Advertisement



2nd June 2006

!
three months is long. Take lots of photos:)
2nd June 2006

!
three months is long. Take lots of photos:)

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb