Captains's Log: Arrival


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Saxony » Dresden
May 15th 2006
Published: May 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

5.15.06
0956 hours
After many a mix up of flights here and there…Germany, I sail. Missed the first flight…maybe on purpose. The second flight took longer than expected and I ended up getting bumped to even another flight. A bit overwhelmed. Sat next to a super nice lady on the flight from Phila. Her son is about to graduate, just turned 21, crazy math/geology major, 4.0 blah blah. Sounds impressive. Since my flight got changed I didn’t get my oh so kosher meal but I did get a veggie meal as they somehow ran out of the meats. And I must say I take back everything bad I said about U.S. Airways as they got me drunk on the flight with Dewar’s and Merlot. They kept the cocktails FLOWING. I am talking service here people! Every 15 minutes they would come back through “…you want another?” …something like that. They even had real silverware on the flight…and the one wasn’t quite a fork but more like a spork…fascinating. Good movie…Fun with Dick and Jane. I listened to some good music. One of the songs was a song by Grover (ha…speak of the devil, mr. babentine.) about feet and it was GREAT…made me laaaaaugh weeeeeee. I am feeling a bit lost and very rushed as it has been nothing but running around so far. I think I may have mastered the art of tolerance of long flights. 8 hours later and I feel fine. The hardest part is finding a comfortable position to sleep and I usually end up completely contorted. Time has been a difficult thing so far as I am just a little…eh, I don’t really even know how to explain that one. It is almost 4 am back home and I feel like it is 2pm. I hope my bags aren’t lost in all of the crap. I miss my super awesome gentleman friend honey pot. I wanted to text you almost every hour to tell you this or that and how I wish you were here and could see it all too…even down to the damn Grover song.


2317 hours
I almost forgot that I got to be a “V.I.P” at the airport on my first flight out. Which just means that you are the lucky winner that gets pulled aside and searched. Not a problem. I got patted down by some lady and then a super super nice guy went through my stuff as we talked about movies, tattoos, punk rock, Social D and on. Pretty cool guy. I was expecting a jerk crabby pants and then he looked at me and said, “you got the whole rocker look going on” as I was even more ready for “…here we go” But no…super nice. Went to get sushi tonight…good stuff. They didn’t have three things I wanted as I went through a list…how about this? …no? ok…this one. No dice. Blaaah
I got a little super down today and almost cried…maybe a but of jet lag combined with missing my special man and company back home. A lady attendant on my last flight thought I spoke German but I just couldn’t understand her English so she spoke to me in German most of the flight. Went on a mini tour of Dresden today too. Saw Slaughterhouse Five from a distance. Learned about a neat castle I want to check out. Met my one flatmate, Kay, today. He’s super nice….weeeeeeeeee. Went grocery shopping and found out that ham is called bacon here too...the US is just weird. Also, PB is DAMN EXPENSIVE over here. Someone send me some natural pb and vonnegut’s slaughterhouse five pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeee. I was cleaning up before bed after trying to figure out how to put my sheets on for forever and came back in my room and “Nobody Does it Better” by Me First was playing as it was on random…I was so happy to hear that as it has been stuck in my head all day as I was thinking about special gentleman number one today and wishing he was right by my side.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb